Welcome to Mile High Healthy

My name is Shelley Langenhorst. I am a 24 year old newlywed living in the suburbs of Denver, Colorado. Mile High Healthy is something that I created to document my life changing transformation from being overweight, unhealthy, and unhappy into what I am today. Today I can confidently say that I love myself and my body…and that is no small accomplishment! After I moved to Colorado, I was so inspired by my surroundings and by the lifestyle and healthfulness of the people here that I finally took my health into my own hands. It is hard to be unhealthy and unfit when you have mountains calling you to climb them! When I first moved Colorado, I had no real exercise experience and my BMI classified me as overweight and dangerously close to obese. I went hiking with my then boyfriend (now husband) my first summer living here and we could not reach the top of the trail because I was so out of shape and overwhelmed. I have never felt so embarrassed or so low! Our engagement in December of 2009 really prompted me to lose weight and get healthy for good. Over the course of the next 10 months, I managed to lose 50 pounds, get into the best shape of my life, really start to love healthy eating and exercise, and most importantly really start to love myself. Anyone out there who has experienced these changes first hand knows how wonderfully contagious they are! Mile High Healthy is my way of paying it forward. I want to help anybody who is willing to be helped. My vision for Mile High Healthy is to have it serve as a forum of information on health, diet, weight loss, exercise, recipes, overall wellness, and much much more. I want to gather all of the useful and interesting information available today online, in books, and in magazines and put it in one place to make it easily accessible.

Please let me know if there is anything you would like to know more about. I am always trying to find helpful and relevant information for my friends and family. Whether you are looking for tips on weight loss, diet, wedding preparation, or even just a good move to help flatten your stomach, let me know and I will try and find you the best possible answers and information. I can be reached anytime at milehighhealthy@gmail.com I look forward to the creation and evolvement of Mile High Healthy and welcome any comments or criticisms you have that could help make it better.

You can view my before and after weight-loss pictures here.

My best,

Shelley

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Mile High Healthy

  1. Shelley-

    You are an inspiration and you have already helped me so much in the past month! I’m down four pounds and am on my way to a more healthy and happy lifestyle! You are a strong and inspirational woman!!!

    MMK

Leave a Reply

