Get the Funk Outta My Face

             A recent post by Angela Liddon from http://www.ohsheglows.com got me thinking. Angela wrote about her return from an exercise and healthy eating slump that was caused by both issues with her sciatic nerve as well as a nasty and long flu. When I read her words it was like I had written them. I knew exactly what she was talking about! I have been in a slump (or a funk as I call it) for quite some time now. While I admire and envy Angela’s get up and go attitude, I have not been so lucky beating these blues.

           Last year I was super woman. I would wake up at 5:30a.m., run to the gym, circuit train, run home, grab my dog and run some more and then make it through the day on an amazingly healthful diet. I looked great, felt great, and had drive; I was on the ball. Then in December and January, health issues sidelined my usual die-hard training efforts. I expected to bounce right back from it and pick up where I had left off, yet that never happened. With each week that went by I just knew that things would get back to normal. Instead, I find myself sitting here over four months later no different. Seasons have changed; my motivation has not.

 I am in a bona fide funk.

           Things are getting serious, I stepped on the scale and the number has risen almost 4 pounds in the past month. That is the first time in over a year that the scale has gone up instead of down.

 Needless to say, there was some serious dramatic chipmunk happening in my bathroom

             However, I am still in a healthy weight range for my height and it is not all about the number on the scale. I do not feel as well as I know that I can. Not exercising regularly and being too lax about my food choices has contributed to an overall sluggishness in my body and in my mind. I am not taking care of myself. I know how good I can feel when I do, which makes it worse that I am feeling so bad now. I know that I need to change things and I know that I can change it.

             So…how does one beat a funk? I would love to say that is as easy as making a declaration and then doing it. It is not! I can’t count how many times I have risen up and shouted “Funk! You are mine, It is my time to shine and I am gonna beat this thing.” (yes, I can be very dramatic when the time calls for it). I have even written out exercise and meal plans that are guaranteed successes! However, I start every Monday morning with gusto and by Friday evening I realize that I am still in the same old boat.

What will it take?

           I have been giving this a lot of thought lately and I am truly really ready to get over this and to start feeling my best. In the next few posts, I will be discussing the different aspects of dealing with a funk. It is so much more than just the sum of its parts; the parts are what really matter.

I have also written posts on how to Get the Funk Out in the Open and Get the Funk Out of Your Head.

My Best,

 Shelley

(you can Find Angela’s post  here.)

One thought on “Get the Funk Outta My Face

  1. Pingback: Lazy Days « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

