Get the Funk Outta Your Head

I’m fat.

I am ugly.

I am a lazy slob.

I can’t believe I had that brownie/cookie/order of fries/fill in the blank.

My thighs are too big.

My cellulite is hideous.

I have a huge gut.

I do not like myself.

Sound familiar? I bet it does; I bet you have thought one of these things or something very similar to them today. In fact, the average American woman has 13 negative thoughts about her body every single day. I would be willing to bet that this number is actually a lot higher, we are just so used to it that we don’t even realize anymore.  We need to make a positive change for ourselves and this change starts with our inner dialogue. You cannot expect to be successful if you are still silently bringing yourself down 13 or more times a day. Another habit to break is putting off happiness for any reason.       

I will only really like myself when I weigh [X] or wear a size [X].

A negative body image and attitude does nothing for you. You need to build up your self-esteem and learn to love yourself for who you are. If you do not love yourself first, no amount of weight loss can really make you happy.

Try this simple exercise to start improving the mental chatter you have daily: when you look in the mirror and find yourself wanting to dwell on the negative, force yourself to stay something positive instead. Or you could find an affirmation that means something to you and repeat it daily. Affirmations should be a positive and grounding force in your life.

 “Very Little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking…”    -Marcus Aurelius

Affirmations:

Negative thoughts destroy only myself.

Happiness is a habit I will develop.

Problems bother me only to the degree I permit them to.

I am what I think.

Enthusiasm is my daily exercise.

I am a competent woman and have much to give life.

I accept and love myself as I am.

Remember, positive thoughts and affirmations do not have to be so serious! Go with what feels right to you. Sometimes I look in the mirror and just say “damn I have a great ass!” No need for feeling like you should be modest or humble about yourself. Just say whatever feels right.

I will leave you with the fortune from a cookie that I had today; I thought it was very fitting!

 

My Best,

Shelley

4 thoughts on “Get the Funk Outta Your Head

  1. Pingback: Get the Funk Outta My Face « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: The Excuse Monster « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: I am Thankful « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Prevention « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

