Favorite Foods: Green Juices & Smoothies

Now this is what I like to see!

         

This is not the countertop of someone who is in a funk; this, my friends, is the food of someone who is serious about their health! I would definitely call this a successful grocery trip. Crisp and bright produce is beautiful and inspiring to me. It’s hard to not eat well when your fridge is stocked with food like this! I make it a point to avoid processed foods as much as possible; I really believe that they are the downfall of our society’s health. I am also vegan. I do not eat any animal products: no red meat, poultry, seafood, dairy, etc…I have been eating this way since January. I feel like every aspect of my life has improved since going vegan. I cannot recommend it enough. Even if you could never see yourself giving up meat completely, I urge you to at least reduce your consumption and if nothing else, increase the amount of whole foods in your diet.

A delicious and nutritious dietary staple that I recently discovered is green juice! It is my secret weapon. On days when I drink green juice I have more energy (especially in my workouts) and feel brighter. I make a point to start my day off with green juice if possible. I drink it first and let it settle in my stomach for about thirty minutes before I eat any foods. This provides instant nutrients to my body that are readily and easily absorbed into my system.

I definitely emphasize the GREEN component of my green juices:

 

My typical green juice includes: kale, spinach, collard greens, parsley, cilantro, celery, cucumber, green apple, ginger, and lemon juice. Yes, it sounds scary at first but it is a taste that you get accustomed to and eventually start to crave! I like to make a giant batch of green juice on Sundays that way I don’t have to worry about it during the week. I freeze them and then use as needed. Some people ask if this lessons the amount of nutrients that I get because they are oxidized once juiced. Yes, but the nutrients to not disappear completely. Better to have some than none at all! Healthy eating is like exercise, you do what you have to do to make it happen.

I think that fresh green juice is a truly beautiful sight:

 

I also make a point to include green smoothies in my diet. My green smoothies typically include: romaine, spinach, cucumber, celery, pear, pineapple, lemon juice. These are very similar to my juices, except I just blend these ingredients together and therefore get the benefits of fiber as well. Plus they are extremely filling! How else are you going to be able to get almost all of your daily fruit and vegetable servings in just one glass!!

 

Extra juices and smoothies go into the freezer!

Even just adding a handful of spinach to your next smoothie will up the health factor. I do suggest experimentation with green juices and smoothies and I hope that you will like them as much as I do!

I plan to do more posts on my favorite foods that help me lead a healthy lifestyle. Please feel free to ask questions! Also, let me know if you would like recipes for any foods I mention. Next time: oatmeal!

My Best,

Shelley

9 thoughts on “Favorite Foods: Green Juices & Smoothies

  1. Pingback: Bootcamp Progress & Revisiting my June Goals | Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: What Exactly is “Higher Raw” Anyway? « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Favorite Food: Oats « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: It’s the Little Things, Really… « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Juicing « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Meal Planning « Mile High Healthy

  7. Pingback: My Eating Philosophy « Mile High Healthy

  8. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 4/24 « Mile High Healthy

  9. Pingback: Easy Vegan Workout Recovery « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

