I Hit a Wall

       I hit a wall today. My husband has been deployed in Afghanistan for almost 5 months now; he will be home in about 6 weeks. And although there is much less time ahead of us than behind, I have been having a harder time than usual with the separation this week. Put simply, I am OVER IT!

       It all started yesterday when I went to the post office to pick up a package. It turned out that this package was some of my husband’s belongings that he had sent over in preparation for his return home. I opened up the trunk and immediately started crying! As much as I try to remain positive, every once in a while the severity of our situation really hits me!  

       Sometimes you just have to break down and have a little pity party for yourself and that is my plan today. No better time than a long 3 day weekend! Today I am not going to try and eat my best or workout my hardest; I am just going to do whatever feels right. First, I am taking care of some chores and food prep around the house. Even though it’s just me and my cat in this apartment, I feel like I am constantly cleaning! But a clean house helps me relax so it is one of life’s most necessary of evils.

                                     He may be messy, but he sure is cute!

I started off the morning with Happy Herbivore’s delicious Apple Crisp Muffins:

 

Then I started some flax crackers in the dehydrator. I have not had much luck with raw/dehydrated flatbreads but flax crackers are always good.

 

Taste of Italy Flax Crackers:

  • Soak up to 2 cups of flax seeds in water for a couple of hours until they are gooey.
  • Mix in sun dried tomatoes, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning.
  • Spread onto wax papered trays.
  • Dehydrate at 115 degrees for 4 hours.
  • Flip and peel off the wax paper. Dehydrate for an additional 3 to 4 hours.
  • Break into cracker pieces and enjoy! (Great for dipping)

 I am also keeping a close eye on my lentil sprouts. They will be ready any minute now!

       For now I think I will enjoy a delicious iced teeccino latte and a trashy murder mystery novel at my new patio set (that I brought upstairs and put together myself, feel free to be impressed!) and perhaps later today I will go to a movie. Whatever I decide to do today, I plan to relax, recharge, and remember that life will be back to normal very very soon. Enjoy the long weekend!

My Best,

Shelley

Happy Herbivore Apple Crisp Muffins: http://www.happyherbivore.com/recipe/apple-crisp-muffins/

Sprouting 101 (Daily Garnish): http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/04/sprouting-101-and-a-sprouted-hummus-recipe.html

One thought on “I Hit a Wall

Leave a Reply

