Energizing and Hydrating Green Soup

       I did NOT sleep well last night. In fact, I have not slept well the past few nights. The last time I remember looking at the clock last night was 4:00a.m. I am somebody who always gets 8.5 to 9 hours of sleep a night. Needless to say, I have been feeling quite out of it lately. I think the excitement, anxiety, hopes, and fears of buying a house are just too much for me. I feel like I have a million unanswered questions and thoughts floating around my head. I also learned that I feel like a bit of a crazy person after having tossed and turned for 6 hours (I was in bed at 10:00pm, awake till 4:00am that is a lot of time  to oneself!).

       Today, I was determined to have a productive, if sleepy day. I filled my body with nutritious foods and worked it to the bone. Hopefully this will help me sleep hard tonight.

       Fruit sounded so refreshing when I woke up this morning so I started my day with a fruit packed smoothie. I tossed in some frozen raspberries, strawberries, and blueberries, topped with a squeeze of lemon juice and almond milk and blended until smooth. After the mixture was blended, I added in a banana to help give it a creamier texture. Perfection! I was running late to work but still managed to stop at Starbucks and grab a gigantic soy latte. I normally try to stay away from coffee (especially of the $5 per serving variety) but that was not gonna happen today.

        Lunch was veggie packed! I loaded a half wheat pita with a garden pate salad (recipe link below), hummus, avocado slices, and sprouts. I also enjoyed more hummus with fresh carrots, cucumbers, and tomatoes. I love how healthy food can perk me up on a day where I am feeling completely drained. When I am this tired I tend to crave processed carbs and unhealthy foods but I just have to remind myself that fresh and clean eating will help me feel my best.

       Afternoon snacks included a granny smith apple and a green smoothie. After work I met up with my friend Noel for the first ever Mile High Healthy Bootcamp workout (details coming soon). We pushed ourselves hard and sweat buckets and I was so glad that I did not use my tiredness as an excuse to skip a workout. If anything, this workout will make me sleep like a baby tonight!

       Dinner was quite possible the healthiest meal I have ever eaten! After the tough workout in 85 degree weather, I was craving something healthy and refreshing. This soup is nutrient packed and extremely hydrating!

Green Soup (lightly adapted from Dara’s One True Thing Green Soup, link below)

 

  • 3 cups purified water
  • 1 cucumber, peeled
  • 1/2 bunch celery
  • 1/2 bunch kale
  • 1/2 bunch spinach
  • 1/2 bunch parsley
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro
  • 1 lemon, peeled
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • salt & cayenne to taste
  • 1 avocado

Add ingredients to the blender (adding avocado very last).

  

I topped the soup with nutritional yeast (as Dara shows in the video – link below), my sprouted lentils, shredded carrot, grape tomatoes, and green onion. I like my soups very chunky!

 

Cross your fingers that I can sleep well tonight! Looking forward to waking up refreshed tomorrow.

My Best,

Shelley

(Garden Pate Salad http://renegadehealth.com/blog/2011/05/05/a-delicious-garden-pate-salad-raw-food-recipes/)

(Original Green Soup Recipe http://rawfoodrehab.ning.com/forum/topics/foodie-friday-one-true-thing)

One thought on “Energizing and Hydrating Green Soup

  1. Pingback: What Exactly is “Higher Raw” Anyway? « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

