Spicy Veggie Wraps

       I woke up this morning with a smile on my face and a song in my heart! If my husband were here he would have been very annoyed (NOT a morning person). I am full of life, energy, and confidence after the wonderful and healthy weekend I had. Nourishing, clean foods fuel not only a healthy body, but a healthy mind as well. I made a miniature honeydew slushie when I woke up and followed it with a 50 minute pilates DVD workout. For breakfast I had my most favorite overnight oats mixture (apple-cinnamon-raisin). Lunch was veggies, hummus, and pita (a frequent lunch staple because it is delicious and easy). I had planned on doing some hill sprints after work but it is just too dang hot! I will have to start fitting in my cardio before work now because I do not enjoy running in 87 degrees (I really shouldn’t complain, my friends and family in Arkansas have it way worse than I do)!

       Because it is so hot, I think I will make these veggie wraps again for dinner; there is no way I am turning on the oven or stovetop tonight!

Spicy Veggie Wraps (lightly adapted from Diana Stobo’s Thai Lettuce Wraps)

Makes 1 serving

I made only a few changes to Diana’s original recipe. I doubled the veggie content for my serving and I completely changed the sauce to be spicy and sweet. I topped my wraps with the lentil sprouts I had on hand but the traditional bean sprouts available would be great (they both have the same texture and flavor to me).

Ingredients:

  • ½  cup Walnuts
  • 1 large stalk celery, diced
  • 1 medium carrot, diced  
  • ¼  red bell pepper, diced
  • handful Cilantro
  • 1/4 cup Scallions, minced  (greens only)

Sauce:

  • 2 tbsp Tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp sriracha (or less if you don’t like it too hot!)

Wrap:

  • 2 washed and dried Romaine leaves
  • Lentil sprouts
  • Sesame seeds

 

Directions:

  • Whisk sauce ingredients together. Place in food processor with walnuts and pulse until well mixed.
  • Add in vegetable filling and pulse a few more times until all combined.
  • Serve in lettuce leaves topped with sprouts, additional green onions, and sesame seeds.

 

Omni Idea: While my husband would like the flavor of these, I just don’t see him eating anything out of a lettuce wrap any time soon. To make this a heartier meal that is more appealing to a meat eater, I would suggest tossing the combined mixture with cooked shrimp and hot rice noodles. If you need to thin everything out you could add a couple of tablespoons of the cooking water from the noodles.

Off to enjoy a frosty watermelon slushie and cool down a bit!

My Best,

Shelley

5 thoughts on “Spicy Veggie Wraps

  1. Uh, DRIPPING HOT in Arkansas! Today I woke up for my first 5:30am workout of the summer and it sucked! By the time I get used to the early morning workouts, it will be winter time!

  2. Pingback: What Exactly is “Higher Raw” Anyway? « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Spicy Peanut Noodles with Tempeh « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Meal & workout guide 3/24 | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

