Mexican-Style Loaded Taters

       I wasn’t planning on putting up a post tonight but my dinner was just too good to keep to myself! I came home with the plan of completely vegging out tonight and taking a rest day from working out and that is exactly what I did. I had been craving potatoes all day long and then I got the itch for something spicy. This is the result.

Mexican-Style Loaded Taters

Ingredients

  • Red Potatoes, Roasted

Sauce:

  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Dash garlic powder
  • Dash paprika
  • 1/2 can Rotel

Toppers

  • Black Beans
  • Corn
  • Jalapeno
  • White onion, diced
  • Green Onions, diced

Directions:

Roast the potatoes at 450 degrees for 30-45 minutes

For the “cheeze” sauce: Mix all ingredients together in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir until well combined and hot (will get thick and creamy). Mix in 1/2 can Rotel.

Top with remaining ingredients or your favorite nacho toppers.

       Wow. wow. wow. These blew me away. The cheeze sauce I used is great on nachos, pasta, beans and rice, burritos, or as a regular cheese dip. Nutritional yeast gives it that creamy, cheesy flavor and is a good source of protein, vitamin b12 (important for Vegans), and a host of other beneficial vitamins and minerals.

       Now that I am extremely full and my potato craving is satisfied, I’m going to clean my house in preparation for company tomorrow then I am going to lay on the couch, watch NCIS, and enjoy this lazy day. After all, bootcamp starts at 6:00a.m. tomorrow!!

My Best,

Shelley

6 thoughts on “Mexican-Style Loaded Taters

    • Thank you! I’m sorry it has taken me so long to get back to your twitter message but it has been a crazy week! I don’t get down to Denver too often (live in Littleton) but the main restaurants in the area that I frequent are The Rio (i think they have this in Ft Collins, they are so nice and will prepare stuff exactly the way I ask…they serve a mean vegan burrito), Chipotle (of course!), Garbanzos, zPizza (great vegan pizza choices) and there is a great place in Denver called Root Down. They have vegan options and once a month do an all raw meal which I can’t wait to try. Their website is:http://www.rootdowndenver.com/. Have a great weekend!

  1. Pingback: Tacos, Two Ways « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: French Bread Pizza, Two Ways « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Burrito Bowl « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 4/16 « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

