Dessert Recovery Smoothie

       We had another tough workout in the park this morning; we are really getting into a great groove with these boot camp style routines.

Bootcamp Routine

  • Weighted walking lunges
  • Chest presses
  • Plie suqts
  • Upward Rows
  • Burpees with side shuffles
  • Side lunges with wood chops
  • Tricep Dips

For our core workout we used Whittle My Middle again. We ended the workout with interval sprints down the park path and of course some much-needed stretching. When I got home I also did a 10 minute pilates silhouette routine.

        Needless to say I was STARVING when I finished (honestly though, when am I not hungry?!). This smoothie is made of my most favorite combination of flavors: chocolate, peanut butter, and banana. I love putting these ingredients in oatmeal, banana soft serve, grilled pb sandwiches, and of course…smoothies!

Dessert Recovery Smoothie

  • 1 ½ cups almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon raw cacao powder
  • 1 scoop Raw sprouted grain protein powder (or any protein powder of choice)
  • 7-8 chunks of frozen banana (1 large)

 

Blend first four ingredients together for a few seconds. Add in frozen banana and blend until smooth and creamy.

For extra oomph, add in a handful of fresh, washed spinach!

Don’t be afraid of the color, it still tastes the exact same!

Green Monsters are a great way to start any day….

What are some of your favorite breakfast smoothie flavors??

       I brought some protein packed raw granola and almond milk for a snack today and then I am having Raw Tortilla Soup loaded with black beans for lunch. Now that I am strength training hard on a regular basis I want to make sure my protein intake is high; gotta fuel those muscles!

       I also just want to say a quick Happy Birthday to my husband Steven. He is in Afghanistan and had to work a 12 hour shift today :(. But he is loved and though of often by many people and he should be home in about a month!!

Happy Friday to everyone and I hope you have a healthy and active weekend.

My best,
Shelley

5 thoughts on “Dessert Recovery Smoothie

  1. I have lost 14 lbs since May 10th but 4 of them have come since we started the boot camps! I am nowhere near as strong as Shelley but they are still working wonders, even at my own pace. Thanks for all your help! I won’t miss one workout!!!

  2. Pingback: What Exactly is “Higher Raw” Anyway? « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: My First Fourteener « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: New Workout « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Easy Vegan Workout Recovery « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

