Motivation, Frustration and Discouragement: Part 1.

Hello! My name is M., and Shelley has been kind enough to let me write a guest post on her blog. Thanks Shelley! Now, let’s get down to it.

 My name is M, I am 23 years old, and I live and work in London, England.  I currently weigh about 169lbs, I am 5’8” tall and my current goal is to lose approximately 20-25 pounds. I have been eating 95% vegan for the past two months, and have lost approx 4-5 pounds depending on how much the scale loves me on any given day.

 I’ve wanted to lose weight for so long, and often I get overwhelmed and frustrated with the fact that I’ve wasted so much time, energy and emotion on wanting to lose weight. I loathe how much of my own thoughts have been spent dreaming of being skinny. I also know that my boyfriend gets so tired of hearing me complain and struggle. Let’s be real, it’s not exactly what men want to hear!

 I, like many others out there, struggle with finding an appropriate balance between life-work-health. A high-stress job combined with social commitments often doesn’t equal a healthy weight loss plan. Also, this is my first big-girl job and I want to be able to enjoy London and Europe without feeling guilty about eating and drinking, and I don’t know about you, but I love eating and drinking!

 I know it’s hard. Eating healthy everyday is a MISSION. Eating healthy when out with friends, while throwing back a bottle of wine takes fucking Jedi-like will power. And don’t EVEN get me started on healthy eating when you’re so hung over you can’t think about anything past your venti triple-shot latte and getting your ass to work while praying your unwashed hair doesn’t reek of cigarette smoke. It’s hard, trust me, I know. I want to act 23, but I also want to be healthy and skinny. This, more often than not, leads to discouragement and frustration, because the pounds do not fall off like I wish they did.

 Combating Discouragement. First of all, you must LET GO of the fact that you might have failed in the past. Let it go. Do not waste time thinking about last month/year/week. There isn’t anything you can do about that. Think about today. Set out manageable weekly goals and try to keep them in mind every day. For example, my goals this week:

  1. Drink more water, try for two litres per day.
  2. Only drink (alcohol) two days this week.
  3. Exercise 4 days this week.

 Making the numbers on the scale decrease is in your control, and you know that. Take note of what your mindlessly shoving into your mouth. I love food and eating, but there needs to be some thought put into it. When I eat bad food, I feel bad and it makes me upset because I know I can do better. We all can do better!

 We all have bad days. From work to personal life to friends, life can be tough, but that doesn’t mean you need to turn to food. My aunt always said if your eating when you’re not hungry ‘you’re looking for love in all the wrong places’. If you are having a bad day, embrace it, and think about what YOU can do to change it for yourself. You can’t control what other people say or do, but you can change what you are doing. Take a hold of that bad day and say I WILL NOT BE DISCOURAGED! This is your life! Empower yourself!

Leave a Reply

