Hike and Super Powered Overnight Oats

       I went on a beautiful hike today. Due to an inconveniently timed parade in Evergreen, CO, we were unable to get to our originally planned trail so we ended up stopping and hiking the first trail we saw. I don’t even know the name of it! It was a nice trail and we had wonderful weather.

       Before the hike, I loaded up on some fresh coffee and vegan overnight oats. These oats kept me full and fueled for over 5 hours, making them a perfect pre-hike breakfast.

 

Super Powered Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 1/3 cups almond milk
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein power
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • handful of raisins
  • a couple of walnuts
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • stevia

Whisk all ingredients together until well mixed. Let the mixture sit in the fridge overnight and enjoy cold in the morning. I usually do not use stevia in my oats but this particular protein powder has a weird taste so I wanted some sweetness to overpower it. This is a heftier oat mix than I would eat on a regular day, but I needed more bulk and fuel to power through my hike today.

Calories 430

Grams Protein 23

       I got the chance to use my new CamelBak day pack today and I loved it! It holds 100oz of water and has plenty of storage space. It felt very light and form fitting and I hardly even noticed it was there. I also continued to break in my hiking boots in preparation for a longer backpacking trip this summer.

All in all, it was a great Saturday! I am pretty tired so I am going to veg out for the rest of the night. Waking up early tomorrow morning for a workout!

What are you doing to make your weekend active and healthy??

My Best,

Shelley

2 thoughts on “Hike and Super Powered Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Favorite Food: Oats « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

