Go Bananas!!

       When I was younger and computers were desktop and there was only one per household, I had one particularly favorite computer game. I don’t even remember the name of the game or what it was about, but I do remember the Go Bananas Shake. This was a simple shake the game taught me how to make that was ice, milk, bananas, and a lot of sugar. I remember thinking it was the best shake in the world. This original shake was more of a dessert than actually nutritious so I recently decided to recreate this shake to be more “grown up” and hearty. This is a quick shake you can throw together on the way out the door in the morning or enjoy as a dessert. No frills, all thrills!

 

Go Bananas Shake

  • 2 chunks frozen banana*
  • 1 ¼ cups almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla brown rice protein powder (you can omit if you just want a dessert shake!)
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax (optional)
  • 1 packet stevia (optional, for a sweeter flavor)
  • 2 drops vanilla extract
  • 1 cold banana

Throw the first 7 ingredients in the blender until well incorporated. Add in the fresh banana and blend for a few seconds more.

Makes 1 serving

290 calories

16 grams protein

 

*Frozen banana is a staple in my kitchen. In fact, I buy so many bananas that cashiers often look at me like I’m a little bananas myself (yes, I had to do it). Bananas are so cheap and versatile, I will often by 15 or so at a time! I like to keep some bananas on the counter, some in the fridge, and a lot frozen. For frozen bananas, make sure they are ripe; this will make the bananas sweeter and more easily digestible. Once ripe, peel and dice bananas and freeze in a single layer on a plate or pan. Once frozen, transfer to freezer safe container. Having frozen bananas on hand is so convenient for banana soft serve and smoothies. I sometimes like to use chilled bananas for shakes when I don’t want them to be too thick. For instance, I prefer this go bananas shake more liquid and frothy than thick and creamy.

13 thoughts on “Go Bananas!!

  1. you know what, that is a good idea to buy a bunch and freeze… thanks for that! Before I got to the end of the post i was going to ask you if you bought already frozen fruit or if you just froze fresh fruit.

    • Bananas are the cheapest thing ever so I just buy a lot and freeze. Usually i buy whatever produce is on sale at my local farmer’s market and then freeze any extra (especially berries!)

  2. Go Bananas! That brings back memories! 🙂 I froze some ripe bananas myself just the other day, but I was lazy and threw them in the freezer whole and in the peel. When I got ready to put some in my (not nearly as healthy as yours) shake last night, I just used a paring knife and peeled them before putting them in my magic bullet. I added cocoa powder like you suggested, splenda, peanut butter and milk. It was yum!

    • Actually that sounds delicious! I make a shake just like that for after my workouts, but I use almond milk and add protein powder. (and if I use pb i leave out stevia because it’s already pretty sweet).

  3. Pingback: Massaged Kale Salad (with a great dressing) « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I Learned… « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I learned « Fun With Raw

  6. Pingback: Easy Vegan Workout Recovery « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

