And so it begins….

This week marks the start of my Half Marathon Training! Technically, my training plan is 12 weeks (which means I don’t necessarily need to start it until July 18) but I have a lot going on this summer and I would rather be over prepared than under prepared! I am going to run the Denver Rock & Roll Half Marathon on October 9. I based my training plan off of Hal Higden’s novice training plan. I am also lucky to know an experienced racer that I can ask for guidance and feedback from! I am so excited and nervous at the thought of running a 13.1 mile race. I have never been a serious runner, but I believe in myself and how far I have come and I know that my body and mind are strong enough to do this!

My personal 12 week Half Marathon training plan: Half Marathon Training Plan.

I am happy to say that I have completed the workouts scheduled for all three days so far! I know that one day was a rest day and 2 and 3 miles aren’t very long distances, but I believe in celebrating successes, no matter how small!! I am also very excited to say that I am faster than I thought. I prefer to run outside when I can (winters in Colorado are long when you have to work out on a treadmill 😦 ) but I have no concept of distance or pace, so I recently purchased a Garmin Forerunner 305 to help me with my training. Yesterday I finished my first mile in 8:34 and the second in 10:00 flat.

This morning’s run looked like this:

I am quite proud of that time! Being my first race ever, my only real goal for the half marathon is to finish.  However, in the back of my mind I know I would like to keep it under 2.5 hours, which is a very doable time. I am glad that I won’t have to work as hard on speed as I had feared, but I know my biggest goal will be endurance. I plan to stick to the training schedule and really step up my interval sprints to help increase my cardiovascular endurance. Let the training begin!!

After my run, I downed this beautiful green smoothie (romaine, spinach, parsley, cucumber, celery, green apple, and lemon juice).

For breakfast I enjoyed some of Happy Herbivore’s Blueberry Breakfast Cake with some fresh strawberries and a homemade iced latte (that’s my kind of breakfast!!).

I also recently baked some Chocolate-Zucchini Muffins (also courtesy of Happy Herbivore) which are phenomenal! They are whole grain, very low fat, and they have a vegetable snuck inside. I ate one three and then brought the rest to work; my coworkers have been enjoying them all day without realizing how healthy they are!!

Tomorrow is a cross training day which will consist of bootcamp (we are doing a great routine this week using resistance bands) and another 3 mile run. I can already tell I am going to need a lot of quality rest in the months to come. I will post our Bootcamp routine later in the week.

Time to go see if there are any muffins left, I’m hungry!!

My best,

Shelley

13 thoughts on “And so it begins….

  1. Pingback: Mixing it Up! | Mile High Healthy

  2. This schedule is very similar (almost identical in fact) to the one jus and i were using last year… he is for sure going to do one this year… im not as motivated to do one this year though…

  3. Pingback: Recovery Day | Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Running Progress & My Favorite Post-Run Stretches « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: August Goals « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Quick August Goals Update « Mile High Healthy

  7. Pingback: August Recap & September Goals « Mile High Healthy

  8. Pingback: Now Stretch It Out « Mile High Healthy

  9. Pingback: Denver Rock-n-Roll Half Marathon Race Recap! « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

