Mixing it Up!

       We mixed things up a little in Bootcamp this week, using resistance bands for most of our moves. I was a little worried that it wasn’t going to be a very good workout, but we were all sore the next day! I could really tell that my total body got a great workout from the bands.

 

Our circuit:

Without bands

  •   Walking lunges (these are my absolute favorite!)
  •   Midway bicep curls

With Bands:

  • Squat and row
  • Chest Flyes
  • Thigh adductions
  • Bent over tricep pulls
  • Hip extensions
  • Lat pulldowns
  • Shoulder raises (front & side)
  • Plank with pullovers

As usual,  we followed the sequence up with the “Whittle My Middle” series from Oh She Glows (planks, side plank, torso twists, boat pose, and bicycle crunches). In addition to the Bootcamp workout, I ran 3 miles as  part of my Half Marathon Training. My time was slower than my previous run (27:48 vs 25:59) but I ran after doing an hour of strength training, so this is to be expected.

       Thursday morning, after the workout I decided to throw together a Mexican soup for lunch. I hesitate to call this a “recipe” because I was really just running around the kitchen like a mad woman throwing things together. This can work with whatever veggie combinations you prefer and is more of a guide than an exact recipe. I tried to get a good picture, but it just wasn’t going to happen ;).

Kitchen Sink Black Bean Soup

For the Soup: 

  • Handful of spinach
  • Handful of cilantro
  • Black beans (I threw in almost 1 cup)
  • 1 Tomato
  • A couple spoonfuls of salsa
  • A couple spoonfuls of green chili sauce
  • Water
  • Cumin
  • Chili seasoning
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt & Pepper

Toppings:

  • 2-3 tbsp black beans, smushed
  • Grape tomatoes, sliced
  • Red bell pepper, chopped
  • Onion, sliced
  • Corn
  • Avocado, diced

Directions: Blend the “for the soup” ingredients together in a high-speed blender until smooth. Top with additional veggies. This soup was surprisingly good considering it was a last-minute throw together. The only thing I was really missing was jalapenos (I am out); I think the heat from the jalapenos would really have brought this soup together for me. It would be delicious served with corn chips but I refrained because I knew I was going to eat a whole avocado with it!

       I have decided that on days when I do bootcamp (and now race training too) in the mornings, I am going to “front load” my calories and food for the day. I tend to do this anyway, but now I am going to try to be more conscious about it so I am really getting the fuel and recovery foods that my body needs after these tough workouts. I will never restrict myself in the evenings – I always eat when I am hungry – but I am going to make sure that I get the majority of my daily calories early on in the day.

Here is what Thursday’s food intake looked like:

  • Pre-workout – watermelon slushie
  • Post-workout – Strawberry Recovery Smoothie (with carob instead of cacao)
  • Breakfast snack –Blueberry Breakfast Cake with Earth Balance spread and a homemade iced latte (with almond milk)
  • Lunch – Kitchen sink black bean soup with 1 avocado
  • Snacks- green apple
  • Dinner – Veggie burger patty with 1/2 baked sweet potato
  • Dessert – Banana soft serve

Notice that I didn’t limit myself to a salad or just veggies for dinner. I ate a nutritious meal (with a very healthy dessert!), but I kept it simple. Also, I tend not to be as hungry in the evenings during the summer because it is too hot for me to want to cook anything! 

Plenty of activity, fun, and relaxation are in my future this weekend. Only a few more weekends to go until my husband is back from Afghanistan! I am trying to keep them all very busy so the time will fly by. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend.

My Best,
Shelley

3 thoughts on “Mixing it Up!

  1. We use the band like the one in your picture, our bc instructor would put them on the fence at the tennis courts and we would do various arm and leg workouts… this makes me miss bootcamp. now that my funds are falling into place again i will probably start back in a few weeks… i havent been running this week either so this post is just depressing for me. i love that youve really stuck with your fitness goals, youre doing great and you look amazing.

  2. Pingback: Recipe Revisit: Spicy Cajun Red Bean Soup « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

