Fresh Vegan Pesto

       It has always been a dream for me to have my own garden so I can enjoy fresh and healthy (not to mention cheap!) produce during the summer. I will worry about the fact that I have a black thumb later (luckily my husband is great with plants)! For now, apartment living has limited me to “urban gardening.” My entire garden consists of 2 cherry tomato plants, basil, and rosemary. I just don’t have very much patio room and the available space does not get a good amount of sunlight throughout the day. This does not bring me down though, tomatoes and basil are all I need! My tomatoes still have a while before they start to come in but I just cut back my basil for the first time this season; with it, I made a deliciously easy vegan pesto.

 

Vegan Pesto

  • 1 cup basil*
  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • Sprinkling nutritional yeast (optional)
  • Salt
Place ingredients in a food processor and pulse until well mixed. Because of a lack of parmesan cheese, this sauce needed a generous amount of fresh sea salt.
Serve over pasta (this whole wheat pasta had 6 grams of protein in 1 serving!) with fresh tomatoes (Wow, this was an amazingly fresh and delicious summer meal!)
 
 
**Because this was the first time I had cut my basil back, there was not very much. In order to make a decent serving of pesto, I supplemented my basil with fresh spinach in order to bulk it up. You could not taste or tell that there was spinach in this dish; it’s just an easy way to help your herbs go further!
 
My Best,
Shelley
One thought on “Fresh Vegan Pesto

Leave a Reply

