Lazy Days

Creepy monkey dudes aside, do you ever have one of these days??

       Well, today I did…I didn’t want to but sometimes you have to learn to understand what is best for your body and mind. I was prepared for our normal 6:00am bootcamp in the park. My alarm was set for 5:15 so I could go put in some miles first. I had my workout clothes and gear laid out and I even put together a great little routine. However, I woke up at 6:30 to the sound of a crazy cat running around. I was slightly confused, then  had an “oh shit” moment. Normally I bound out of bed when my alarm goes off, today I don’t even remember hearing it! I even went to sleep at 9:30pm so I would be ready to wake up which means I got in a solid 9 hours of sleep last night! So, although I honestly tried to workout, it seems as though my body really needed the rest today. And I am okay with that.

       Do you ever let yourself have rest days? Or do you ever skip a planned workout? Doing either of these things is not bad at all, in fact it can be very beneficial to your body and your mind. The negative impacts of a rest day come into play when you see a rest day or a missed workout as a failure on your own part and beat yourself up about it. Do you ever miss a workout and then think why bother, I can’t even do one workout so what’s the point? Same thing goes if you indulge in one meal and then feel such a sense of guilt and failure that you give up completely and spend the rest of the day gorging on bad foods with a “well why not” attitude. NOBODY gets it right 100% of the time. Even professional athletes build scheduled rest days into their training programs because they know the importance of recovery. Ultimately, our bodies are smarter than we are and we need to learn to listen to them. 

       The key is to see rest days as something good for you and not to let it ruin the rest of your day. Just because I’m taking a day off, does not mean I am going to give myself free license to eat whatever I want today. In fact, I am going to make sure to eat healthy, fresh foods because in the end they are what is going to give me the energy to not sleep through my alarm tomorrow morning!

My Best,

 
Shelley

P.S. If you feel like you are missing too many workouts and having a hard time being motivated in general, read my posts about being in a funk and see if they help!

4 thoughts on “Lazy Days

  1. I have found that my body DEMANDS at least one rest day a week. And during the hard training times, I usually bump it up to two. I try to keep that ‘guilty’ feeling away when I don’t workout because I know my body will perform better for it.

  2. It happens every once in a while! I almost made a u-turn and went back home but I saw Mendie sitting out there and I said I’m here, we just gotta do it! Glad I did cause I felt great after but I will enjoy sleeping in an extra hour tomorrow! I hope you enjoyed your day!!

    P.S. I love Bruno!!!

  3. Pingback: Berry Patriotic « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Time Warp « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

