What Exactly is “Higher Raw” Anyway?

I previously mentioned higher raw eating in one of my posts and a friend told me that this might scare and confuse people. While it seems perfectly normal to me, I understand that most people might hear “raw food” or “higher raw” and not exactly understand what this means.  Higher raw eating simply means getting 85% or more of your foods in their raw state (nothing heated over 115 degrees, as this is the temperature where many enzymes or nutrients begin to be destroyed). This includes raw, fresh vegetables and fruits, sprouted grains and beans, raw protein powders, raw nut butters and milks, sea vegetables (like nori sheets), and even foods like flax crackers or granola that have been dehydrated or heated at less than 115 degrees.  Higher raw is inherently soy, wheat, (added) sugar, animal product, and processed food free. The best thing about higher raw eating for me, is that it really does act like a cleanse or a detox, while still allowing me to eat real foods (as opposed to just drinking juice). You would be surprised at how filling raw foods actually are, mostly because they are so water and fiber packed! They are also very nutrient dense while still being lower in calories.

But can it really be a lifestyle? Yes, there are many many people who do follow a higher raw to 100% raw diet as a way of life. It may seem like a very strict diet to some (the same way veganism does) but once you learn more about the higher raw lifestyle you realize that the possibilities of foods are endless.

Here’s are some of my sample days of “higher raw” eating

Day 1:

Day 2:

  • Breakfast – Vanilla chai shake
  • Lunch – Green Soup with nutritional yeast and sprouted lentils, veggies, hummus and pita
  • Snack – Watermelon slushie
  • Dinner – Raw sushi (with cauliflower rice)

Day 3:

  • Breakfast Dessert Recovery Smoothie
  • Snack – Raw Granola Raw granola with almond milk
  • Lunch – veggies, hummus and pita; raw carrot tart soup (carrot, cucumber, walnuts, grapefruit juice)
  • Snack – Green Smoothie and green apple
  • Dinner – Raw Tortilla Soup with corn, avocado, onion, jalapeno and corn chips (not raw)
  • Dessert – Cantaloupe & Watermelon Slushie

I’m not saying there isn’t a place for cooked food in a healthy diet. I am all for cooked foods! However, I like to take a day or two every once in a while to recharge and reset my digestive system and taste buds. I really feel that raw food cleanses my body while still fully nourishing it. Whatever your food preferences, on a day to day basis, it is always a good idea to get more raw vegetables and fruits in your diet. I actually plan on doing the next three days higher raw in preparation for travel, a wedding, and my husband coming home!

If you are interested in learning more about higher raw eating or just want some higher raw recipe ideas, my favorite resources are Choosing Raw, Kristen’s Raw, and Uncooking 101.

My Best,

Shelley

15 thoughts on “What Exactly is “Higher Raw” Anyway?

  1. Okay so I LOVE That you posted this for a couple of reasons… A) I didn’t know what the hell you were talking about when you were all “higher raw” jibber jabbbering 😉 before.. B) Of course I clicked on the Brownie link… which took me to the post dedicated to that I missed previously (you posted it while I was gone on my honeymoon). From this post I captured your recipe and C) I caught your side story on counteracting your PMS symptoms… You’re blog is wonderful and oh so helpful! 🙂

      • That’s the main point for me! I’m already sweating, why would I want to turn on my oven and stove and make a hot meal on top of that! Plus smoothies are the best!! And drinking lettuce isn’t bad i promise, you’d be surprised and how nice it is. Especially when you throw spinach in an otherwise sweet smoothie (it’s called a green monster!). You won’t even know it’s there!

  2. I wish you would come stay with me for like a week and make all of these juices and smoothies, so i could try them all and get over my fear that they might be aweful (i cant bring myself to make them until im assured i wont waste it).

  3. Pingback: Tropical Breakfast Smoothie « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Massaged Kale Salad (with a great dressing) « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Waldorf-Style Endive Boats (vegan, all raw) « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Quick August Goals Update « Mile High Healthy

  7. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I Learned… « Mile High Healthy

  8. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I learned « Fun With Raw

  9. Pingback: These Are My Confessions « Mile High Healthy

  10. Pingback: 2011 – A Wonderfully Difficult Year « Mile High Healthy

  11. Pingback: Raw Food Resources « Mile High Healthy

  12. Pingback: Working From Home, for now « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

