Tropical Breakfast Smoothie

The other day I was craving something tropical and filling. Sometimes smoothies leave me wanting but this one definitely kept me full all morning long. Not only does this smoothie have taste and staying power, it is also a perfect combination of ingredients to keep you healthy. The smoothie is brimming with anti-inflammatory antioxidants, iron, vitamin-c, omega 3s, and fiber (we could all use a little more fiber in our diets!). The flavor combo was inspired by all the fancy juices that you see in the orange juice section these days!

Tropical Breakfast Smoothie

  • 1 orange
  • Handful of strawberries
  • Cold banana
  • Handful of spinach
  • 1 tablespoon flax seeds, previously soaked

Blend ingredients together until well combined. I promised it tastes a whole lot better than it looks. All of my smoothies are turning brown lately because I have started to add chia and flax seeds! Before I threw in the seeds, it was the most beautiful red-pink-orange color.

My higher raw eats for Monday:

  • Breakfast/Lunch: Tropical breakfast smoothie (I made one HUGE pitcher of the stuff!)
  • Snack: Green apple
  • Dinner: Thai lettuce wraps
  • Dessert: Plain banana soft serve
  • Plus lots and lots of water

It doesn’t seem like much but I was extremely full all day long. Looking forward to more variation tomorrow.

Give this smoothie a try as soon as you can. If you close your eyes real tight, you can almost smell the salty ocean air….or maybe that’s just me daydreaming again. #ImissHawaii

My Best,

Shelley

2 thoughts on “Tropical Breakfast Smoothie

    • Well i know that now! Flax seed just adds some healthy fats, fiber, and protein. Gives it a little boost yet doesn’t have the strong flavor that vegan protein powders can have. It’s tasty, I grind it up and sprinkle it on cereal and salads too!

Leave a Reply

