Massaged Kale Salad (with a great dressing)

Tuesday turned into a crazy, hectic, wanna scream at the top of my lungs kind of day! I am going home to Arkansas for a wedding this weekend and had planned on buying a cheap, last minute plane ticket. But of course, there were no tickets availalbe (even though there have been EVERY OTHER WEEKEND this year!) so my easy, breezy plane ride just turned into a last minute 30 hour (roundtrip) road trip. Stressometer is through the roof right now because this means I am leaving a whole day early and I am not quite prepared to go. But alas, it is what it is and I just have to deal.

I won’t lie though, I almost crumbled under the pressure. As soon as my stress levels started rising the first thought in my head was “I’m just gonna go get a vegan blueberry muffin from Whole Foods….and maybe one of their vegan chocolate glazed donuts as well.” I knew it was a bad idea but I am a stress and boredom eater. I knew the muffin wouldn’t make anything better but I really thought “well with everything going on I will need it.” Trust me, you NEVER need food to cope. Ever. So I did what any self-respecting wannabe health blogger would do….I skyped my friend and told her to give me one good reason not to get it! So she told me that I would regret eating it and she was absolutely correct. It would have merely given me a sugar and carb overload and left me feeling even more depleted. I did a course correction and decided that my pre-planned higher raw day would really give me the energy and lightness that I needed to deal with this crazy situation. And even though my bosses are in town (just added to the stress…heaping it up in a big ol’ pile really) and kept asking me to go to lunch with them, I refused and settled in to this delicious and veggie packed salad. And it was good.

Massaged Kale Salad

For the Salad

  • Kale
  • Tomatoes
  • Green onions
  • Grated carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Bell pepper

For the Dressing

  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • cumin
  • salt & pepper
  • water, for thinning

Directions

Place all dressing ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth (add water to thin out dressing). Massage the dressing into the kale. Go ahead: turn the lights down low, put on some soothing nature sounds, and really put your all into massaging and relaxing the kale!! It is exactly how it sounds, you rub the dressing into the leaves until it begins to break them down and make the kale softer (the salad will wilt down, but in a good way).

Kale Before

Kale After

Top with remaining ingredients or your salad ingredients of choice. I am convinced that this dressing would be a great dip for some sweet potato fries that have been seasoned with chili powder and roasted. Somebody try it and let me know!

Tuesday’s higher raw eats

  • Breakfast – Go Bananas shake with raw protein powder and raw, homemade almond milk
  • Snack – Green smoothie
  • Lunch – Massaged Kale salad with extra veggies on the side; 2 dates with nut butter
  • Dinner – Green juice and banana with nut butter (I know this sounds terrible, but I was super busy getting things ready for the trip and I completely forgot to eat a real dinner)
Off to finish packing for the trip. I am making a ton of food to bring with us (I’m cheap like that! Plus I don’t want to waste all my produce).
What are some of your favorite foods to eat on a road trip?
My Best,
Shelley
2 thoughts on “Massaged Kale Salad (with a great dressing)

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Meal Ideas « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Get it in Gear « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

