How to Eat Healthy on a Road Trip

Once I found out I was taking a very last-minute road trip, my first thought was “what about all the food in the fridge? I don’t wanna waste it!” So I decided I would just have the healthiest little road trip you ever saw! Usually on long car drives, I am munching on fast food, salty carbs, and candy. It’s just what you do when you drive, right? Well now that I think about it that always left me feeling a little weighed down, bloated, and broken out by the end of the trip. Does anyone really need all the calories from junk when you are just sitting still for (14) hours anyway?? No.

Instead, I decided this would be a refreshing, light, and nutritional powerhouse of a road trip! So while I was super-duper stressed about actually getting everything together on time, I managed to fit in some time in the kitchen to prepare some tasty treats. Yes, this did take way more time and effort than a simple drive through would, but I arrived in Arkansas feeling wonderful.

Road Trip Snacks

Frothy Green Juice (kale, spinach, celery, cucumbers, apple, cilantro, juice of lemons and limes)

Green Smoothies (romaine, spinach, celery, cucumbers, green apple, lemon juice, banana)

 Raw Chili (didn’t photograph very well, but a delicious mixture of flavors!)

Mango-Pineapple Smoothie (inspired by the new McDonald’s smoothies which have yogurt)

All in all, I was very satisfied throughout the trip. We arrived in Arkansas Thursday afternoon and then before you know it we were leaving for the rehearsal dinner! I was very fortunate that the chef where we ate whipped up a gourmet vegan meal for me and it was amazing! I enjoyed a chopped tomato salad on spring greens with a balsamic glaze, an amazingly creamy vegan risotto with vegetables, and a mango sorbet with fresh strawberries and blueberries. When other people at the dinner saw my vegan food, they were jealous at how delicious it looked!

Myself and the (cool as a cucumber) bride.

Time for more wedding preparation! Going to start the day off strong with some kale juice to give me instant energy.

My Best,
Shelley

3 thoughts on “How to Eat Healthy on a Road Trip

  1. Pingback: Not Quite a Fourteener, But Not Bad! « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

