Here goes nothing!

After an almost 2 week hiatus from working out (due to a trip and my husband coming home) it was back to the grindstone this morning. And lemme tell you, things were a bit rough! I can tell that I will be a little sore tomorrow, my muscles felt a lot tighter than normal. I also wasn’t as quick as usual on my run. It took me a minute to get into a good groove and pace and then just when I thought I was flying, I looked down at my Garmin and I was really only jogging at a 10:00 pace! I ended up running 2 miles in 18:28.

Bootcamp Routine

  • Walking Lunges
  • Midway Bicep Curls
  • Plie squats
  • Push-ups
  • Reverse lunges with knee lift
  • Upward Row
  • Bridge Raise & Lower
  • Tricep Kickback

Core work

  • Plank
  • Side Planks
  • Toe taps with weight
  • Reverse crunches
  • Oblique side to side toe tap (this one is hard to explain, but very effective!)
I followed up the workout with a delicious strawberry recovery smoothie with a handful of spinach added in.

On another note, something very exciting happened last night: my husband and I made our first “blended” dinner together!. He eats meat and dairy and I started following a vegan diet after he left for Afghanistan, so I have been a little worried on how we are going to adapt to these new changes. If it is anything like last night, we will have no problems at all!

The first thing that made mealtime easy was his birthday present…..

I figured that a grill would be the ultimate way to make summer dinners easy and adaptable.

I think he really enjoyed it!

The second thing that will be very important when trying to feed both of us is planning!! I want meals to be easy and cost effective, which is why the concept of a blended dinner is so appealing. One meal done two ways will be much easier, cheaper, and less stressful over the long run than trying to prepare two completely different dinners every night. Last night’s dinner was our favorite style of burgers!

My husband’s burger was beef, pepperjack cheese, mayo, avocado, red onion, and tomato on a standard bun.

My burger was a veggie patty, Daiya pepperjack non-dairy cheese, avocado, red onion, and tomato on a whole-wheat thin bun.

Hopefully all dinners will be this easy to please; however, I have a feeling that this is gonna take some hard work and planning. But I have complete confidence that it can be done!

My Best,

Shelley

5 thoughts on “Here goes nothing!

  1. “Blended” meals are MUCH easier than two completely different dinners. Like tonight, I made a veggie stir-fry of sorts and I just added some marinaded chicken to Josh’s. He LOVED it and it was super easy for me. Best of both worlds.

  2. I love how you start out the post with talking about your hard core plan… then end it with showing pictures of food. haha. Oh i love you.
    I’m starting a new diet on the 1st (I’ll be traveling to DC with 40 youth next week… which is NO time to start a diet). It’s called Ideal Protein. Anyway, my friend has lost 24 lbs in 8 weeks… so it seems promising. What’s not promising is that I can’t have any diet cokes, beer, bread, dairy, or sugar… yeah… that hurts.

    PS: I miss you. A lot. Love you!!!!

  3. Pingback: Tacos, Two Ways « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: BBQ Pizza, Two Ways « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

