Favorite Food: Oats

This is the second post of my “favorite foods” series. I previously wrote on green juices and smoothies.

Today’s Favorite Foods post is about Oats! Not only are oats full of fiber and whole grains, they also pack quite a protein punch which make them perfect for vegans looking to get in protein wherever they can. Oats can also be gluten free, if you purchase a certified gluten free brand (if not they might have wheat cross-contamination from the facility in which they are processed). I generally use rolled oats because they cook so quickly, but steel cut oats are a great choice as well.

I love to start a hike or particularly long and grueling day with some hot berry oatmeal. 


My top favorite way to eat hot oats is Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal! Cook together steel cut oats, almond milk, pureed pumpkin, cinnamon, vanilla, and chia seeds. Add in some toasted walnuts and dried cranberries for a delicious fall treat.

Another of my absolute favorite ways to eat oats are overnight oats. 


My favorite way to enjoy overnight oats is to combine oats, almond milk, peanut butter, cocoa powder, chia seeds, vanilla, and banana. Angela at Oh She Glows has an abundance and wide variety of delicious overnight oats recipes.

I loved this idea for overnight oats from Alex at Thoughts From a Working Housewife. 


Yes, people might look at you crazy and more than 1 person asked me if I was really eating straight up peanut butter out of the jar, but what an easy and ingenious way to make sure you get every last glob of PB you can (hey, that stuff can be pricey!).

I also enjoy mixing oats into my smoothies to help thicken them and add more fiber.

Have you ever tried savory oats??


You absolutely must try this recipe (also courtesy of Oh She Glows) for Mexican oatmeal.. I know it sounds weird and confusing but I promise you, you will be satisfied! I modified Angela’s recipe by adding in less liquid, omitting the oil, and doubling up on the nutritional yeast. Then I top the oatmeal with white onion, jalapeno, sliced avocado, salsa (preferable hot), black beans, and serve with blue corn chips. This meal never disappoints and (if you use the microwave for the oats) can be made in 5 minutes flat!

What are some of your favorite ways to make oats?? I am always looking for new ideas! 

My best,

Shelley

4 thoughts on “Favorite Food: Oats

  1. Well, you already showed my favorite way to enjoy oats: cold and in a jar of PB! But I’ve been even MORE lazy and have been eating them raw with slices of fresh fruit! I LOVE OATMEAL!

  2. Pingback: Apple-Cinnamon Overnight Oats « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Oatmeal (it involves chocolate!) « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: My Eating Philosophy « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

