Apple-Cinnamon Overnight Oats

Big news people, big news!! My husband likes green juice!

This makes me very happy! I love green juice and think it is wonderful for my body. Most people get really freaked out at the sight of it, but he drank it with gusto and didn’t gag once. More big news this weekend: our brand new king bed was delivered and it is AMAZING! For the past 4 or so years that my husband and I have lived together, we have shared a full bed and it was very snug (there was even a time when we shared a twin! If that ain’t love, I don’t know what is). I sprawl out when I sleep so the extra (extra) room is a wonderful luxury.

Saturday morning’s bootcamp routine was very similar to the last routine we did (with some fartleks thrown in). Saturday afternoon we napped in the new bed (a reoccurring theme this weekend) then we went to see the final Harry Potter movie with friends. After the movie we went for dinner at the Mellow Mushroom. I ordered the Hawaiian pizza with vegan cheese and tempeh instead of mozzarella and ham. It was delicious!

Sunday morning we intended to do a hike but ended up taking a nice, long drive through the mountains.

(Classic Shelley & Steve self-pic!)

After the drive, we went furniture shopping then went home and took yet another nap! I have never felt so grown up.

With Saturday’s post about oats, I have had overnight oats on the brain so I whipped up one of my favorite mixes.

Apple-Cinnamon Overnight Oats

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • Scoop protein powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3/4 to 1 cup almond milk
  • Cinnamon
  • Vanilla
  • Raisins
  • Chopped walnut
  • Diced green apple

Directions

Whisk together first 5 ingredients. Stir in the rest of the ingredients. Let the mixture sit in the fridge overnight and then enjoy cold in the morning.

It seems like a lot of ingredients, but this recipe really is low maintenance.

The oats really thicken up overnight (thanks to the chia seeds).

Happy Monday morning to everyone, I hope you have a wonderfully productive week.

My Best,
Shelley 

4 thoughts on “Apple-Cinnamon Overnight Oats

  1. What a handsome husband you have! I will try this oatmeal,because you know I loved your mexican oatmeal!Thanks for the healthy recipe Shelley.I Love You,have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Two years of blogging: my favorites so far | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

