Running Progress & My Favorite Post-Run Stretches

Speed or distance. Not both. 

Speed

(2 miles)

Or Distance

(5 Miles)

Not Both

A few weeks ago, I announced my intentions of running my very first half-marathon this October. Unfortunately, due to a trip home and my husband returning from Afghanistan, my training has been a little off the past couple of weeks. In fact, though I hate to admit it, I haven’t really been enjoying the training yet. I have read countless stories of people who started running and fell in love with it and I have been hoping for that to happen to me, but it seems to be taking a little longer than I expected. I have been too worried about time and pace and have turned running into a chore instead of something that I can actually enjoy. Alex, a runner friend of mine, recently told me to focus on either speed or distance during a run. Not both. It may seem simple and common sense, but I have never been a runner so I did not know this. It really opened my eyes and gave me an “Aha” moment. I don’t need to pressure myself too much on my runs. I just need to run.

Monday morning I set my alarm for 6:00a.m. and after fighting the urge to hit snooze I got up for a run. I have realized that using my CamelBak on long runs or early runs really helps me push through. In the 10 minutes that it takes me to get ready for a morning run, I just can’t drink enough water to really keep me hydrated . Plus I sweat…A LOT!

Feeling like the living dead before my run. 


I pounded out 5 hot miles (including a few walking breaks) and finished with a time of 51:38. Ultimately I think walking breaks are great for me! Before, I was so worried that a walking break would mean I wasn’t a good runner….but who am I competing against? Who am I proving something to? In the end it’s just me and the pavement and if a walking break is going to help me actually do 5 miles…then I am all for it!

Looking like the living dead after my run!

After my longer runs, my hips are in desperate need of stretching. The following are my favorite stretches to work out any tightness I have due to running. I hold each stretch for at least 15 seconds and sometimes for a full minute.

Runner’s stretch

source

Pigeon Pose

source

Pigeon Pose Variation (my favorite stretch)

 source

Hip Stretch

 source

Just looking at these pictures makes me want to stretch. In fact, I think I will go do that right now!

My Best,
Shelley

4 thoughts on “Running Progress & My Favorite Post-Run Stretches

  1. Awesome!!! I used to think that about walking breaks too! 🙂 what half marathon are you going to do? You will love it!!! I miss running…since Phillip has been gone and it’s been SO hot, my running has pretty much stopped. 😦 BUT, he’s almost back! Cannot wait to get back to it!

    • I am doing the Rock-n-Roll Half-marathon in Denver October 9. I can’t imagine how hot is is there, I would not be able to run at all! As it is, I have to do my runs at 6:00a.m. here, I just cannot stand the heat.

  2. Pingback: Quickie Full Body Workout « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Now Stretch It Out « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

