Chocolate-Covered Cherry Recovery Smoothie

We had a really great bootcamp workout this morning. My friend Noel is getting married in less than 3 weeks, so we are stepping up our arm work to help her get toned shoulders and arms for her strapless wedding dress. This morning we did the bootcamp set twice and the core work just once at the end. I followed it with some interval sprints, stretching, and a delicious smoothie. 

Bootcamp

  • Tick toc lunges (30 each side)
  • Shoulder presses (25)
  • Jumping squats (50)
  • Alternating bicep curls (40)
  • Leg extensions (3o each side)
  • Push-ups (30)
  • Alternating side lunges (50)
  • Tricep dips (30)

Core work (each move held/done for 60 seconds)

  • Plank
  • Side plank
  • V-up crunches
  • Oblique toe taps
  • Plank with alternating knee to elbow
  • Boat pose
  • Scissor raise & lower

Now to my favorite part of Bootcamp days: the recovery smoothie after our workout! I have never enjoyed those too sweet chocolate-covered cherries that you find in abudance around Christmas and Valentine’s Day. I do, however, love fresh cherries. And chocolate. And this week I found myself with a huge bag of fresh cherries (love produce sales) so I decided to see if I could make my own chocolate-covered cherry treat and what sounded the best to me was an ice-cold smoothie, of course. On bootcamp days, I always have a protein smoothie with greens and fruit to help my muscles recover from our workouts. I was a little nervious about this shake but it actually turned out extremely well. Tuesday night I pitted, halved, and froze my own cherries but you could certainly use store bought frozen cherries (just make sure to get them without added sugars).

Chocolate Covered Cherry Recovery Smoothie

Ingredients

  • Handful of frozen cherries
  • Handful of torn kale
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp cacao powder
  • 1 scoop raw protein powder, optional
  • 2-4 tbsp rolled oats (to thicken)
  • stevia (for added sweetness, optional)

Directions

Blend all ingredients. Top with additional oats if desired.

I also have a feeling that a smoothie made with frozen cherry, mango, and spinach would be really good. I might have to try that soon!

Does anyone else crave ice-cold smoothies in the summertime? If so, what is your favorite smoothie combination??

My Best,
Shelley

4 thoughts on “Chocolate-Covered Cherry Recovery Smoothie

    • The Raw Protein powder I use is from Whole Foods. That container in the picture was about $30 and it has lasted me a while. It has something like 80 calories and 18 grams of protein per scoop! I like to use it on days when I do strength training. It is made from sprouted grains. I also use an organic brown rice protein powder that I found at GNC – 56 calories and 11 grams of protein per scoop. Thanks for stopping by Dani!

  1. Pingback: Blueberry-Banana Super Smoothie « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Easy Vegan Workout Recovery « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

