Not Quite a Fourteener, But Not Bad!

Saturday morning at 5:00a.m. my husband and I set off for a great adventure. We went to Mt. Evans and I was very excited to embark on my first Fourteener (a 14,000ft + mountain). I have wanted to climb a Fourteener ever since I moved here two years ago, but I was never in good enough shape. We reached the trailhead that we thought was to the summit and set off. It turns out, we found some bad information online and we were not actually on the trail to the top of the mountain! However, the hike that we did take (to Lincoln lake, near the summit) was the most beautiful and peaceful hike I have ever been on, so I am not too disappointed that my first Fourteener will have to wait (just till next weekend, hopefully). The whole hike ended up being 13.5 miles – just 2.5 miles shy of the planned summit hike. We did not see another person for the first 5 hours of the hike and lemme tell you, on a mountain just 35 miles west of the city this is no small feat!

The end of the trip was hot, hot, hot! We fell into the car, went home, and took a looooonnnggg nap! When we woke up, I quickly whipped up this deliciously refreshing summer treat.

Strawberry-Mango Sorbet

Ingredients

  • Frozen strawberries
  • Frozen mango chunks
  • Fresh blueberries

Directions

Let the strawberries and mango thaw for just a bit. Throw in the food processor with a splash of cold water and let run until a sorbet-like consistency forms. That’s it! Ever since Sarah’s rehearsal dinner, I have been craving mango sorbet like crazy.

Today is going to be a wonderfully relaxing Sunday. My husband is extremely sore, so we are just going to take it easy and get things done around the house. I am also preparing a few recipes by Happy Herbivore for an upcoming guest blog spot on her website! I hope everyone has a nice end to their weekend.

My Best,

Shelley

5 thoughts on “Not Quite a Fourteener, But Not Bad!

  1. Pingback: August Goals « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Goals Update & Mango-Strawberry Sunshine Smoothie « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 3/3 (Operation: Get Well Soon) « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Prepping for health | Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Mango Oatmeal | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

