Blueberry-Banana Super Smoothie

I was feeling lazy this week so Tuesday’s bootcamp routine was the same as last time. However, this time we did double up on the arm work – Noel is getting married on the 13th of this month so we are really focusing on toning up her arms and shoulders! I followed the routine with a quick 2 mile training run. I have some pretty gnarly blisters on me heels from our hike this weekend, so I am paying extra attention to my feet (and yes, although a little hippie for my taste, gnarly really is the best word to describe them!). After the workout I was craving something cold and refreshing and this smoothie was perfect. Funny side note – after drinking this smoothie I stopped at Target and Starbucks and had a few conversations with people in my office building and NOBODY managed to tell me that I had a ridiculous blueberry smoothie mustache…people are funny sometimes!

Blueberry-Banana Super Smoothie

  • Cup of almond milk
  • Protein powder (I used Raw Protein Powder)
  • Drop vanilla extract
  • Tsp Spirulina* (optional)
  • Handful of spinach
  • Handful of kale
  • Cup of frozen blueberries
  • Banana (frozen or room temp)
Mix all ingredients together and blend (adding banana last). I topped the smoothie with some amazing banana granola and then stirred it in so I could have some chewy bits as I drank. Love this deep purple color!
This truly is a super smoothie! Spinach and kale add tons of iron, chlorophyll and fiber. Blueberries are a huge source of antioxidants and you know I love my banana (seriously, I put banana in every smoothie I make). I really like having smoothies with banana on mornings after a hard workout, because the potassium prevents muscle cramps and helps balance my fluids.
*Spirulina is another superfood that you may not be as familiar with; it is a blue-green algae and is a wonderful source of vitamins and minerals for vegans. There are many types of spirulina on the market today (I bought mine at Whole Foods). In the end, you just have to try them out and find which works for you. I can’t taste it, but my husband says he can (he still didn’t think it was too bad though).
Make sure and check out the new Recipes and Fitness Pages at the top right. I have put all recipes and fitness related posts together in one place for ease of use. Also, let me know if there is anything you would like to see me make soon. I am open to suggestions (especially for smoothie combos!).
My Best,
Shelley
2 thoughts on “Blueberry-Banana Super Smoothie

  1. Great article! I just decided to make a smoothie, using whatever ingredients I had at home, which were frozen blueberries; a banana; and sugar-free, lactose-free almond milk- just three ingredients. When I started blending them together, however, the color drastically and quickly (in a few seconds after I turned off the blender) turned from a light magenta to a dark-blue-purple! I was a bit shocked, as this color change doesn’t occur when I use milk or soymilk to make smoothies. I was worried that the almond milk might have gone bad, or something, but your post assured me of its normalness. And it tastes delicious! (:

    have an amazing day!
    – Rachel

  2. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 3/3 (Operation: Get Well Soon) « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

