Easy Afternoon Pick-me-Up Smoothie

It has been One week since I gave up diet soda! Since I am getting considerably less caffeine from day-to-day, the caffeine I do drink is sending me through the roof! This morning I went and picked up an almond milk latte from Whole Foods and I couldn’t even drink 1/2 of it before I got the jitters and felt strung out. I do not like that feeling. As I go about my day today cleaning the apartment, doing loads and loads of laundry, and fitting in some yoga, I need an energy burst that is not going to end in a crash a couple of hours later. What better way to get instant energy than through delicious and nutritious whole foods??

Easy Afternoon Pick-Me-Up Smoothie

  • Frozen mango
  • Frozen blueberries
  • Hemp seeds
  • water

Blend all ingredients together.

This smoothie “recipe” really is so easy to throw together. The smoothie is packed with fruit sugars and protein and fats from the hemp seeds that give you a quick yet long-lasting burst of energy. It was more leveled energy than I have ever gotten from a cup of coffee!  I just can’t resist smoothies with beautiful colors like this. Something with this deep of (natural) color has to be good for you – after all, the darker the fruit, the higher the antioxidants!

Now that I am energized once again, I must go get ready for my friend’s Bachelorette party at the Rockies game tonight. If only they would let me bring in a smoothie to the game!

My Best,

Shelley

6 thoughts on “Easy Afternoon Pick-me-Up Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Goals Update & Mango-Strawberry Sunshine Smoothie « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: My First Fourteener « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I Learned… « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I learned « Fun With Raw

  5. Pingback: It’s the Little Things, Really… « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Two years of blogging: my favorites so far | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

