My First Fourteener

I did it! I finally did it! Tuesday I was bad and I played hookie at work and instead hiked my very first Fourteener (a mountain that is 14,000+ feet). This is something that I have wanted to do since I moved to Colorado and I put it on my goals list to really do it this month. It was tough and breathtaking and at times a little scary (apparently I am mildly afraid of heights) but completely and totally worth it once I reached the summit and just looked at the beauty around me. It was the most amazing thing I have ever seen!

We woke up at 4:20a.m. (groan) and I slammed an afternoon ridiculously early morning pick-me-up smoothie. We arrived at the trailhead around 6:30 and I drank a dessert protein shake (my favorite) to give me some long-lasting fuel for the hike (note to self: next time take it slow and don’t chug the dang shake, this made for a very queasy first 30 minutes).

I finally got contacts again so I decided to try them out on the hike (I feel like I look really weird without my glasses!)

Everything about the hike was so beautiful, I was in awe.

I don’t mean to brag (of course I do) but I just think my husband is so handsome!

Once we reached the summit I was truly speechless.

On the way down we had a picnic with the best view ever…

And I managed to do some mountain top yoga (side note: I love Tara Stiles’ yoga approach and she has a fun project called “yoga anywhere” which is what these pics were for)

We had planned to summit two Fourteeners (they are right beside each other) but that did not happen. The second looked a little tough and steep and I still have 17 miles to run this week so I decided to be kind to my feet. I am still thrilled with the experience and now that I have accomplished my first Fourteener, I am ready to take on some more!

Thanks for sticking around for all of the pics, I hope you enjoyed them.

My Best,
Shelley

4 thoughts on “My First Fourteener

  1. Congrats! That’s no small feat! I’m ashamed to say, that even though I’ve lived in CO my whole life, I’ve never climbed a 14er. The closest one to me is Long’s and it’s a little sketchy in places, so I haven’t attempted it. You’ve inspired me though–I need to do it!

    • I have lived here 2 years now and have wanted to climb one since I got here! It was an amazing experience, the view will stick with me forever. Grays wasn’t too difficult if you need an easier hike to start…it only took us about 2.5 hours to reach the summit (we didn’t rest much though). You should definitely do it, you won’t regret it!

  2. Pingback: August Recap & September Goals « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: 2011 – A Wonderfully Difficult Year « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

