Carrot Cake Overnight Oats (vegan)

I have some exciting news: this morning I ran my furthest distance ever…7 miles!

I am especially proud of this because I was not feeling a run when I woke up. I actually had to lie on the floor in my living room and talk myself into it. Hey, it happens! I wasn’t even supposed to run very far – just a quick 3 miler – but once I got outside and into the groove I decided to push it and complete my long run for the week. We are going out-of-town this weekend so I am glad that it is done and I don’t have to worry about doing it when we get home Sunday night. This personal record could not have come at a better time either since this recently happened:

I am really starting to feel a confidence in my running that has taken a whole lot of the anxiety off the race. I know I can do it now. Before, I had hoped that I would find the strength and courage to finish, but now I know that the strength and courage is there. I know that I will finish and I know that I will enjoy myself!

Ok, on to something much more important: FOOD! Running, especially longer distances, leaves me with one thing on the brain…carbs. But I don’t want to throw back any ol’ carb, I want something that will fuel me and sustain me for more than just an hour. A quick look in the pantry last night and I knew what to make….oats of course! Since it is summer and super-duper hot I made overnight oats. But I also wanted a hearty flavor so I decided to make a bowl of oats reminiscent of one of my favorite baked goods.

Carrot Cake Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • Pumpkin pie spice (or a mix of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger)
  • Stevia
  • Drop vanilla extract
  • 1 medium carrot, shredded
  • Handful of raisins
  • Chopped walnuts, optional

Whisk first 6 ingredients together well. Fold in shredded carrot and raisins, stir. Let sit in fridge overnight. Top with a splash of almond milk and some chopped walnuts. If you need a little more oomph, you can always add a scoop of vanilla protein powder (I use vanilla brown rice protein powder).

Cold, creamy, and satisfying! Busy day ahead getting everything ready for the trip. Have a great day!

 

My Best,

Shelley

 

7 thoughts on “Carrot Cake Overnight Oats (vegan)

  1. Pingback: Eating Healthy on a Budget « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Banana Bread Overnight Oats « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Seasonal Chia Pudding « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Easy ways to eat more veggies « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

