Meet the New Guy

I promise this will be my last crazy cat lady post for a while (maybe)! As you know, my most favorite companion just passed away. This week was indescribably difficult for me. I never realized how much a part of me Ree Pee was, but when he left us it felt like a piece of my heart was missing.

Because Ree Pee was such a force of nature (he was big and loud!), our house was achingly empty without him. When my husband first suggested that we get a new kitten, I kind of freaked out; I wasn’t sure that I could handle it. I didn’t want to feel like I was just throwing Ree Pee’s memory aside and replacing him as fast as I could and I couldn’t come to terms with moving on from him. It was then that my husband said something that really surprised me and made me think. He said that pets help us, that is what they are meant to do. They help us feel loved, accepted, comforted, happy, and not so alone. Reeces Pieces will always be important to me because he helped me through so much. He kept me company when my husband was in basic training for 5 months and then he did it again when my husband deployed to Afghanistan for 6.5 months. He also helped me through another personal struggle that I thought I would never get over. He was there for me and he helped me more than I could have ever imagined. My husband said a new kitten wouldn’t replace him or make us forget him, but it would help us move on from this terrible loss and feeling of emptiness. I had never thought of it this way.

I have always had a cat (or two) since I was seven years old. Just the few days alone in our apartment was something strange and unfamiliar. My husband felt the emptiness a lot harder than I did. He said he couldn’t take it for one more day and that he just had to have something running around!

And so….I present to you the newest member of our family…..Rockie!

 

We found Rockie at the Denver Dumb Friends League. Just going there and seeing all of the kittens and cats that needed a home made me realize that just because I can’t love Ree Pee anymore doesn’t mean I can’t love someone else. We spent over 3 hours at the shelter looking at cats and trying to get a feel for them. I was immediately drawn to Gertrude, a rambunctious little kitten who was bouncing off the walls! However, when we had one-on-one time with her it just didn’t feel right. After some flip-flopping (it is way too easy to do when there are kittens everywhere), my husband decided he wanted to meet Rockie. He was a pretty sad sight indeed – he had JUST been neutered and had the saddest eyes you have ever seen…he was truly miserable. Of course my husband picked the cat who looked like he needed the most love. But I will admit, as soon as we got to hold Rockie in person, I knew he was the one for us too.

It will take a little getting used to, having this new guy in our lives. I still wake up thinking my big, fat Sweet Pee Moon will be waiting for me. I don’t know how long that will last but I know with each day that passes I am letting Rockie in a little more.

He sure is a cute one, but he has a lot to live up to.

2 thoughts on “Meet the New Guy

  1. Pingback: Quick August Goals Update « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Iced Coffee Protein Smoothie « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

