Iced Coffee Protein Smoothie

As I mentioned in my goals update yesterday, I have not been doing so hot on my workouts recently. I have been getting in my runs (17 miles the past 2 weeks, 18 miles this week), but not my strength training, ab workouts, and yoga. And so today’s workout focused more on strength (specifically arms and core) than running. I also upped my weights today which made a huge difference. When we started our bootcamp workouts at the beginning of the summer I was using 10lb weights. However, I did not feel challenged so I eventually upped it to 12lbs. I still have not been seeing the results I want so I decided to just go gung-ho and use 20lb weights. I fully felt the physical exhaustion of pushing my muscles to the limit today, which is exactly what I wanted.

Tuesday Workout

  • Run – 2 Miles (17:34 )

3 Sets of:

  • Bicep Curls (20lbs) 15 reps/15 reps/10 reps
  • Tricep Kickbacks (12lbs) 20 reps/15 reps/10 reps
  • Shoulder Presses (20lbs) 12 reps/10 reps/8 reps
  • Chest Presses (20lbs) 20 reps/15 reps/10 reps
  • Upward rows (20lbs) 15 reps /12 reps/10 reps

Core

  • Cardio Abs
  • Side raises and lowers w/ 20lb weights (My favorite oblique ab move!)

Before my workout this morning, I fueled up with a few slices of cantaloupe and afterwards I drank a fresh green juice (kale, spinach, cilantro, celery, cucumber, green apple, green grapes, lemon) but was craving an ice-cold protein shake to help me recover. And because a certain little kitten has been keeping me awake at night, I needed caffeine. BAD. This smoothie delivered on both counts.

Iced Coffee Protein Smoothie

  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • Ice
  • Protein powder (I used vanilla brown rice protein)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (for thickening)
  • 1 packet Starbucks Via Iced Coffee
  • Vanilla
  • Cinammon
  • 1/2  frozen banana (optional)

Yeilds 1 smoothie. (315 – 370 calories &  22 grams protein)

Blend all ingredients together, adding banana last. The banana isn’t necessary, but I find that frozen bananas give smoothies the perfect creamy consistency (and don’t worry, the coffee flavor overpowers the banana). Because I am so sensitive to caffeine, I could probably go with just 1/2 packet of the Via next time but regular coffee drinkers should be fine with the whole thing.
I love an iced coffee after a long, hot run and this is the perfect way to combine coffee flavor and protein for recovery after a workout. I am also tempted to do this adding vanilla Luna & Larry Coconut Bliss instead of ice for a more dessert style coffee shake (wouldn’t be the healthiest breakfast, but it sure would be good!).
Now, let’s just hope that I can lift my arms tomorrow!
My best,
Shelley
3 thoughts on “Iced Coffee Protein Smoothie

Leave a Reply

