Quickie Full Body Workout

This workout seemed like a quick routine when I was doing it, but now that I am writing it down I can see that it really was an effective full body workout!

Run – 2 miles (18:37)**

Core –  pilates abs

Strength moves (2 sets w/20lb weights)

  • Leg extensions (30 each leg)
  • Pushups (20)
  • Static wall squats holding 20lb weight (2 X 60sec each)
  • Bicep curls (16)
  • Shoulder presses (12)
  • Tricep dips (20)
  • Rows (20 each)
  • Dead lifts (12)
  • Oblique weight lower (20 each side)

Stretch – I have previously talking about stretching after runs but I haven’t ever emphasized the importance of stretching after strength workouts. Do it. It is a vital component of your exercise program and will help your body recover more quickly (not to mention it can prevent painful soreness).

**I recently read in Runner’s World Magazine that 70% of your mileage should be easy runs…70%!! As such, I am going to stop bringing my garmin on my shorter runs because there is really no need to worry about pace during easy runs. The only thing I want to focus on during my 2 mile runs is defeating the 2 monster hills on that route. They will be mine.

I followed the workout with a new smoothie idea that I was very excited about. Fresh raspberries, spinach, agave…it sounds like it would be refreshing and delicious. It was not. I was very very disappointed by the smoothie and it actually took me almost an hour to drink it!! It even looks pretty bad (and this is coming from someone who drinks all kinds of brown and green things!). Oh well, I am going to tweak it a bit and give it another go.

Come back tomorrow for another installment of the One Meal, Two Ways Series!

My Best,
Shelley

Leave a Reply

