Easy Tofu Scramble

A quick and easy recipe for you this Thursday morning. I have been vegan for almost 8 months now and have wanted to try a tofu scramble the entire time. Problem is, I was scared. I have conquered wheatgrass shots and green juices. I have tried seitan, tempeh, and even tapioca-based cheeses. But for some reason, I was really hesitant to actually eat a scramble made with tofu. I love tofu, but could it really be a good stand-in for eggs? Or would it be one of those foods that was sorely disappointing and could never come close to the “real thing”? Eggs were a food that I would go back and forth about; I would go through periods of eating an egg every day with breakfast or not being able to eat them for a while because they would start to gross me out. Not surprisingly then, eggs were one of the items I “missed” the least when I made the transition to veganism at the beginning of the year.

This past weekend, I finally worked up the courage recently to conquer the tofu scramble once and for all (plus I had a block of tofu that was expiring and I needed to do something with it!). Turns out it is not only ridiculously easy, but also a delicious and versatile meal. You could enjoy this scramble with breakfast, over brown rice and veggies for dinner, or even in a burrito (did this, loved it). Feel free to mix and match the vegetable add-ins based on your preference. For this recipe, I kept it simple.

Easy Tofu Scramble (serves 2)

  • 1 block extra-firm tofu**
  • 1/4 white onion, diced
  • 1/2 – 1 red Bell pepper, diced
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Salt & pepper

Saute onion and pepper in oil with salt until softened and golden brown. Crumble tofu into the skillet (I just squished it in my hands until I acheived the desired consistency). Add in seasonings and stir until heated through. If you really need this scramble to look like eggs, add in just a tiny pinch of turmeric for coloring.

*** You will want to press the tofu before cooking, to remove any liquid. The easiest way I have found to do this is to drain the tofu, slice in half and place on a plate topped with paper towels. Layer more paper towels on top of the tofu and put another plate on top of that. Then place something heavy on the plate so it will weigh the tofu down and expel any excess liquid. For a better tutorial, see this quick video.

What are some of your favorite scramble add-ins?

– Shelley

5 thoughts on “Easy Tofu Scramble

  1. Pingback: BBQ Pizza, Two Ways « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Eating Healthy on a Budget « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 4/24 « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Meal idea: Vegan Tofu Tostada | Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Veggies for breakfast, ice cream for dinner | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

