Full Body Bootcamp + Smoothie

Morning all! I took a break from the blog world yesterday to relax and enjoy my holiday weekend. My husband and I caught a Rockies game and spent some time walking around downtown. It was a simple and nice day.

It was back to the grindstone bright and early this morning for a bootcamp workout in the park. I am sad to say that we probably won’t have many more of these because it is staying dark later. 😦

Full Body Bootcamp

I used the 12lb weights for this routine, mainly because I didn’t want to lug my 20s to the park!

  • Walking Lunges (100)
  • Midway bicep curls (15 each)
  • V-up crunches (60 seconds)
  • Mountain climbers (50)
  • Leg extensions (30 each leg)
  • Pushups (30)
  • Planks and side planks (60 seconds each)
  • Fire hydrant leg raises- think about it! (20 each side)
  • Shoulder presses (20)
  • Side to side oblique toe taps (60 seconds)
  • Jumping squats (50)
  • Tricep kickbacks (20 each)
  • Scossor split reaches (60 seconds)
We followed up the routine with some walking and sprints. I have a 2 mile run on the agenda for later and my husband actually agreed to run with me! This should be fun totally competitive.

Below is a perfect post-workout smoothie recipe that is quickly becoming one of my favorites. It is inspired by Choosing Raw.

Chocolate – Zucchini Recovery Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 small zucchini, shredded
  • large handful of fresh spinach
  • 1 scoop raw chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 to 1 small frozen banana

Blend first 3 ingredients in blender until smooth. Add banana and blend until creamy. I stirred in some chocolate buckwheat crispies (a raw treat) but granola or oats would work as well. I promise chocolate and zucchini go well together! This is a perfect way to start your day on a sweet note while sneaking in some veggies too.

Stay tuned tomorrow for another post in the “One Meal, Two Ways” Series!

My Best,

Shelley

 

 

3 thoughts on “Full Body Bootcamp + Smoothie

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Oatmeal (it involves chocolate!) « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I Learned… « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Another Higher Raw Weekend & What I learned « Fun With Raw

Leave a Reply

