Spaghetti, Two Ways

The other night for dinner, my hubby and I agreed on something easy to prepare for both our tastes: Spaghetti! My husband enjoyed a traditional plate of spaghetti with meat sauce while I put a quick and delicious twist on mine. I hesitate to even show this as some special meal, because I use store bought tomato sauce so there really isn’t much cooking involved!  Sure, I have my own tomato sauce recipes, but something about the taste of Prego gets me every time. Plus sometimes when feeding two people with such different eating styles, quick and easy is the name of the game. Feel free to use your sauce of choice or even make your own sauce (I will post my homemade version in the future).

General Prep

  • Boil spaghetti of choice
  • prepare tomato sauce

Shelley’s Meal

  • 1 serving of spaghetti
  • 1 zucchini spiralized (this adds bulk to the pasta while only adding about 20 extra calories!)**
  • Place 1/4 cup or so of chickpeas in the food processor and run until smooth
  • Add processed chickpeas, nutritional yeast (about 2 tablespoons), and red pepper to desired amount of sauce and heat through
Steven’s Meal (is that a man meal or what?!)
  • probably closer to 2 servings of spaghetti!
  • saute ground beef with garlic powder and italian seasonings
  • pour sauce over beef and heat through
  • served with garlic bread
**Spiralizing zucchini is extremely easy! I purchased a spriralizer at Bed Bath & Beyond for about $25 but alternatively, you could just thinly slice zucchini lengthwise with a vegetable peeler to make flatter, more fettucini like “pasta.”
I am very excited that the One Meal, Two Ways series is taking off! It is nice to know that there are more and more people looking to expand their eating styles. As always, feel free to let me know of any meal you would like to see made a post in this series.
My Best,
Shelley
Leave a Reply

