My Favorite Oatmeal (it involves chocolate!)

Hello all! I don’t know about the weather where you are, but it is cold here. Bootcamp this morning was very chilly. I ran my first mile in the complete dark and had visions of winter training flash before my eyes…I’m not ready to run on treadmills yet!! It was also very wet this morning, leading us to do a more leg and arm-centric workout and leave the core stuff for the comfort of our living room floors.

I had originally planned on a Chocolate-Zucchini Smoothie after our workout, but as Noel and I were walking in the cold and wet this morning, I realized I wanted something hot to comfort me. Noel mentioned she was going to get oatmeal for breakfast and my tummy immediately rumbled. I haven’t had hot oats in a very long time (breakfasts this summer have consisted of either smoothies or overnight oats). I mentioned this oatmeal before in my Favorite Foods: Oats post, and now it is time for a formal recipe!

Chocolate-Peanut Butter Oats

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup oats
  • 1+ cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder (alternatively you could use regular protein powder and a scoop of cacao or cocoa powder)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter
Combine oats, milk, and protein powder in a pot on the stove. Cook on low to medium-low until the milk has soaked in and the oats are warm, adding additional milk if your oats get too thick. (you could also just microwave this if you are short on time). Place in bowl. Slice in banana, throw on peanut butter, and add a drizzle of milk if desired.
The heat of the oats make the peanut butter and banana all ooey-gooey. I upped the protein for these oats because of our strength workout this morning, but if you want a simpler bowl you could cut out the protein powder all together and just use cocoa. Enjoy this dessert-breakfast treat!
My Best,
Shelley
2 thoughts on “My Favorite Oatmeal (it involves chocolate!)

  1. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

