Quick & Easy BBQ, Two Ways

Ok, so I know that I just went on a crazy pumpkin kick last week and rambled on and on about how much I love fall. Well apparently, fall does not love me back because it is gone. We have had temps in the mid to high 80s this week! Even though it is now officially fall, summer weather is back. Sigh, that’s ok though because it is giving us a little extra time to be warm before I start complaining about how damn cold Colorado is in the winter!

Warm weather also means more grilling. I have mentioned before that a grill is a great tool for a mixed-diet household; it makes cooking dinner soooo easy. This week we enjoyed a BBQ dinner that was flavorful and easy.

General Prep

  • Make veggie skewers (I used onion, bell pepper, and pineapple because that’s what we had on hand)
  • Roast potatoes (cut red potatoes up into small bits, drizzle with olive oil, season, and roast in the oven at 450 for 45 minutes)
  • Find BBQ sauce. While a majority of BBQ sauces were vegan, it took a while to find a good quality sauce that didn’t have high fructose corn syrup as the first ingredient! I finally picked out Stubb’s original BBQ sauce which was wildly flavorful with a hint of spicy and sweet.
We seasoned the potatoes with this garlic-chive mix from my mother-in-law…Yum!

Shelley’s Meal

  • Grilled veggies
  • Potatoes (my husband served, trust me I couldn’t eat all that!)
  • Grilled tofu coated in BBQ sauce (word to the wise – grill tofu on top of a sheet of foil, otherwise it will stick to the grill bad!)

Steve’s Meal

  • Grilled veggies
  • Potatoes with ranch
  • Grilled chicken coated in BBQ sauce
  • Gigantic piece of Oreo cake for dessert
This was a filling and comforting traditional-style meal that just shows you vegan foods aren’t too different from non-vegan foods. I am hoping it gets cold again soon because I have some ideas for soups and casseroles and I just can’t bear the thought of sweating while I eat them!!
Happy Wednesday Everyone!
Leave a Reply

