Key Lime Pie Smoothie

No new strength/bootcamp workouts this week or next. It’s almost race time and I have stopped cross-training for the moment in order to be able to focus all of my training efforts on running. Workouts will be back shortly though. Until then, more food!!

This smoothie is one of the best I have ever made! I loved it so much I kind of want it for dinner tonight too. One of my favorite desserts to indulge in before I transitioned to a vegan diet was the Key Lime Pie Cheesecake at the Cheesecake factory. Though it was ridiculously rich, the tartness of the lime gave the dessert a bright and light feel. The same goes with this smoothie. I wanted it to be thick and rich, while also being a light breakfast smoothie. In all, the smoothie has around 350 calories and is packed with nutritious foods and flavor.

Key Lime Pie Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp hempseeds
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil**
  • Juice of 3 limes
  • Large handful of spinach (b/c that’s my mantra “tastes good, add spinach”)
  • 1 frozen, ripe banana
Blend first 5 ingredients together until combined. Add banana and blend until thick and creamy.
**If you don’t have/don’t wanna buy coconut oil, you can lessen the amount of almond milk used and add some canned coconut milk (preferable the top, thick layer. Surprisingly enough though, the version using oil will have less calories).
Tomorrow is my last long run before the race. Not gonna lie, I’m getting a little nervous. I saw on the news this morning that there are 15,000 runners, wow!!!
I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. 
7 thoughts on “Key Lime Pie Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 3/21 (Spring Cleanse Day 3) « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: What Makes Shelley from Mile High Healthy GLOW! (Key Lime Pie Smoothie?! YUM!) | Everyday Glow

  3. Pingback: Mini-Workout & Daily Vegan Eats 5/15 « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Easy Vegan Workout Recovery « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Easy ways to eat more veggies « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Daily Eats 5.19.14 | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

