Pot Pie, Two Ways

 

 

This dish is one of my favorites from my childhood. It is so simple, yet so comforting and reliably delicious. I told my husband I was going to make pot pie and he was very excited…until he came in the kitchen and saw that I was making just 1 sauce. Did he really think I was going to dirty two pots by making a regular sauce and a vegan sauce?? No. Not gonna happen. After all, the Two Ways series is about easy ways to fix dinner for a mixed diet household. I don’t want to be making two separate dinners every night! We were both a little nervous that the vegan version of the sauce would not be as good as the original (which I used to refer to as “just like crack”). The sauce is what makes this meal. We waited with bated breath for the pies to finish baking (ok, I’m being dramatic). But still, I saw the trepidation on his face as he was taking his first bite, he was hoping that this wasn’t going to suck big time. And you know what, it didn’t!! The sauce had almost the same flavor as I remember and even though I couldn’t use biscuits, my pot pie was oh so good. My husband declared “well this sauce is kind of different, but still really good.” That is a big deal in my household. I will take it.

General Prep 

  • Make sauce (recipe below)
  • Halve a can or frozen bag (thawed) of your favorite vegetable mix between two small casserole dishes

Pot Pie Sauce (vegan, used for both pot pies)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup non-hydrogenated vegan butter** (I use Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 3/4 cup vegetable stock
  • 1 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp regular veggie bouillon (I used 3 tsp of “Better than Bouillon”)
  • Salt & Pepper, oregano, thyme
Directions
  1. Melt butter in pot. Slowly stir in flour and whisk until combined. I found that this non-dairy butter did not react the same as regular butter and therefore the mix clumped together quite fast. No worries, if this happens just move right on to the next step.
  2. Slowly add in stock and milk, whisking so that the flour mixture dissolves into the liquid. This will turn the sauce quite creamy. Let sauce cook over medium-low to medium heat until very thick and bubbly (this takes about 10 minutes).
  3. Add in bouillon, spices, and herbs. Stir well.
Shelley’s Meal
  • Pot Pie Mixture: Veggie mix (mine included green beans, peas, carrots, and potatoes), 1/2 can great northern beans (any bean would work, these just don’t have a strong texture or flavor so they mixed well), and steamed broccoli
  • Cover the mixture in sauce
  • Top with puff pastry (phylo dough could work as well)
  • Bake @350 degrees for around 30 minutes
Steven’s Meal
  • Pot Pie Mixture: same veggie mix plus cooked and shredded chicken breast
  • Cover the mixture in sauce
  • Top with halved canned biscuits (For Steve’s pot pie, I used flaky layers biscuits, which unfortunately for me are not vegan)
  • Bake @350 degrees for around 30 minutes
***before you freak out at the butter content (vegan or not) of this recipe think about this: this sauce is getting halved into two casserole dishes which each make at least 4 servings. Therefore, each serving has no more than a tablespoon of the non-dairy butter, which is right around 45 calories. That’s not too bad. At least I am going to pretend it’s not too bad! After all, this is one of those indulgent, comforting, delicious meals you have just every once in a while in order not to ruin its awesomeness with familiarity.
There is a chill in the air this morning and I am hoping it really lasts because the second that we have a cold day, I am making over my signature Chicken & Rice Soup into a Two Ways meal. Hopefully that will be up next week!
Leave a Reply

