Now Stretch It Out

Well folks, it’s almost here! My first half-marathon is on Sunday and I am getting very excited and a little nervous. I saw on the news that there will be 15,000 runners!! I have been preparing for the race since mid-summer and I can’t believe it is already here! I was thinking last night about how I made it from then until now with no injuries. I read a lot of blogs about running and am always surprised at the number of injuries these runners get. Granted, I am not running upwards of 50 miles a week or anything, but this year I went from someone who didn’t really run at all to someone who is running double digit numbers on the weekends now. To do this in the span of a few months without injury, soreness, or burnout is something that I attribute to two important things: stretching and eating right. I try to always fuel my body with healthy foods that will give me long lasting energy. Same goes for recovery. Though I do indulge in pancakes occasionally after a long run, I always drink a green juice or smoothie first. Then throughout the day I will fill up on veggies, whole grains, and legumes which I feel helps my body recovery more quickly and fully.

Stretching is another very important post-run routine that I have touched upon before. I love to stretch, sometimes it is my favorite part of my workout. After all, if you put your body through the wringer with a tough workout or long run, don’t you want to reward it for all of its hard work?? I stretch after every single run. It doesn’t matter if the run is 2 miles or 10 miles, I make stretching a priority because for me, it helps my legs and hips bounce back quickly and it prevents any soreness. Sure, I might be a little stiff after running for an hour and a half, but I am never sore the next day.

Below is my go-to stretching routine. I have expanded on it since last time and though you will find some of the same stretches, I have added new ones that I absolutely love. I do this routine, usually in this order, after every run.

source

source

source

source

source

[Repeat above stretches on other leg]

source

source

source

source

source

I can feel my muscles relaxing just looking at these pictures! More thoughts and goals for the race coming tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

