Veggie Soup, Two Ways

This soup is one of my signature meals. I’m not sure when I started making it or why, but it’s something I always come back to as a surefire favorite. It is the perfect meal to warm you up on a cold, fall day. And I always make it if one of us is feeling sick because it is filled with goodness from vegetables and broth. Not to mention that it is so easy to make! I made this on Sunday after my race and have been enjoying it every day since.

General Prep

  • Cook rice
  • Toast crunchy French bread
  • Make Soup

Veggie Soup

  • 3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 3 stalks celery, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers (I used 1 red and 1 green), cored, seeded and chopped (I like these bigger)
  • 1 onion, chopped (again, I prefer bigger onion pieces)
  • 1 head broccoli, chopped up into bite sized pieces
  • 2 quarts veggie stock
  • Italian seasoning, to taste

Directions

Place all veggies in a big pot and cover with stock. Bring to a boil and turn to low. Let simmer for 30ish minutes or until desired veggie consistency is reached. I like my veggies with some bite left to them). Place desired amount of rice in bowl and ladle soup and broth over it.

Shelley’s Meal

  • Veggie soup with brown rice (in my leftovers I added chickpeas, yum)
  • crusty french

Steven’s Meal 

  • Veggie soup with white rice and chicken
  • lots and lots of crusty french
I am having my 4th bowl of this soup for lunch today. Yes 4th bowl. I love it so much and have no problem eating up all of the leftovers. Like most soups, it only gets better with time!
One thought on “Veggie Soup, Two Ways

  1. Pingback: Recipe Revisit: Spicy Cajun Red Bean Soup « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

