Running & Pumpkin-Chocolate Protein Smoothie

As you probably noticed, there was no new Two Ways post yesterday. Between all of the company, things to do, and eating out in the past week and a half I really haven’t had time for much cooking. But I do have some great recipes coming to you soon. Except for the one I tried to make yesterday, I burnt that to hell and back!!

Tuesday I had mentioned that I want to start working on my pace during runs. Specifically, I want to get faster. I found out last night that this is completely possible and the problem was that I just wasn’t pushing myself hard enough.

Monday’s Run:

VS. Wednesday’s Run:

I realized last night that if I try, I can run fast. It’s as simple as that. Well, maybe not completely simple because it did hurt a little!! I do want to start seeing my pace consistently drop under 9:30 and closer to 9:00 and below. I want a 10:00 pace to feel really slow. Because I do my runs solo, it is going to take a lot of willpower to push myself. Yesterday my strategy was to pick out people way ahead of me on the trail and pass them. I also saw a really fast girl running during one stretch and I followed behind her (and probably creeped her out!) until it was time for me to turn around. In the end, no matter how hard it was I really had fun and felt proud after I finished the run.

Now why do I want to run faster you might ask?? Because….I’m running my second half-marathon on November 5!! It is right around the corner and my main goal is to finish it quite a bit faster than the Rock-n-Roll Half. I had hoped to have 4 weeks to train for this half but I didn’t run all last week in order to let a kink in the arch of my right foot work itself out. So now I have 3 weeks (well, less now) to get faster!! I think that this is completely doable, especially since 1/2 of this race is on the road and half is on the trail (the last half). I can definitely run a whole lot faster on trails because it is easier on my feet and legs. Here’s to hoping!

My training plan has been tweaked a bit to make up for last week so now it looks something like this:


I will check in a few days before the race to see how my training actually turned out!

Moving on in the most random post ever: a smoothie recipe! I had some leftover canned pumpkin and threw together a tasty little protein smoothie this morning. It’s getting harder to drink ice-cold smoothies in the morning now that it’s so chilly, but I’m gonna do my best to keep at it!

Pumpkin-Chocolate Protein Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • Scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • Drop vanilla
  • Dash cinnamon
  • Sweetener of choice (I used Stevia)
  • 1 frozen banana

Blend all ingredients but the banana until combined. Add banana and blend until smooth.


2 thoughts on “Running & Pumpkin-Chocolate Protein Smoothie

  1. Pingback: These Are My Confessions « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Heart Center Half-Marathon Goals « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

