BBQ Pizza, Two Ways

Pizza holds a special place in my heart. I love it so much. Bread? Check. Veggies? Check. Cheese? Well….if I had to pick just one food that I have really missed since becoming vegan it would be pizza. I don’t miss cheeseburgers… veggie burgers smeared with avocado are much better to me. I don’t miss eggs…tofu scrambles allow me to really be creative. I don’t miss chocolate…well that’s because I still eat plenty of it! But pizza? It’s been the one food that I haven’t quite mastered with plant-based only ingredients. Everything else is pretty much the same (check your labels on crust though…a lot of times they have milk and cheese in them) but the cheese factor has eluded me. Most vegans will rave about their love of Daiya cheese for days. While I do like Daiya on burgers, in scrambles, burritos etc…to me, the taste was too off-putting for pizza. And the texture wasn’t quite right either. I felt like the mozzarella-style Daiya overpowered my pizza.

And then one day….fate stepped in. I was running to the store to grab some Daiya for a pizza but Gasp! They were out!! What’s a vegan to do?? I grabbed the only other vegan mozzarella-style cheese and headed home with no idea what to expect. Turns out, this stuff is gold! It melts like mozzarella does and it has a very muted flavor. It doesn’t take over the pizza, but instead gives it that extra something something that makes it taste like the pizza I remember and love.

This BBQ style pizza was inspired by my husband’s favorite pie at Mellow Mushroom: the funky Q chicken. I decided to make mine with tofu and omit the bacon (of course!). Another twist of fate led me to be without a good vegan crust so I instead decided to use pita that I had in the pantry. I was very pleased with how the pita crust turned out! It got a little crunchy, but also stayed soft and mimicked thin-style crust. Try it sometime!

General Prep

  • caramelized onions
  • set out ingredients so we could each customize our own pizzas
  • Bake pizzas at 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes

Shelley’s Meal

  • wheat pita
  • spread with BBQ sauce
  • Topped with BBQ marinated tofu and caramelized onions
  • Top that with shredded vegan cheese (I used Vegan Gourmet**…I like it for pizza much better than Daiya)
Steven’s Meal
  • Cheesy mini-crust
  • spread with BBQ sauce
  • topped with BBQ marinated chicken, caramelized onions, bacon, and mozzarella
Ok, so I realize I may have been a little dramatic about pizza, but for me this is seriously life changing. Now that I have found my perfect, vegan mozzarella-style cheese, the possibilities are endless.
**side note, the Vegan Gourmet cheese takes a little longer to melt so I baked the pizza at 350 for about 15 minutes, then broiled it for a couple of minutes to get the perfect consistency.
2 thoughts on “BBQ Pizza, Two Ways

  1. Pingback: Notes from the Weekend « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Easily Hooked « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

