New Workout

Need a way to burn off those extra Thanksgiving calories? Well, this workout is an absolute killer. When I first tried tabata with strength training last week it was a total body routine that – while great – left me feeling like I was all over the place!! This week I spread it out into lower body, upper body, and core segments. Each segment is done in the traditional 4 minute tabata style. Remember, do each move at the highest possible intensity for 20 seconds, rest 10 seconds and move to the next move. I completed all 3 routines and then immediately repeat them, making a 24 minute total body, fat burning, and exhausting workout!

Lower Body

  • Lunges (20 seconds right leg, 20 seconds left leg)
  • Plie squats
  • Reverse lunges (20 seconds right leg, 20 seconds left leg)
  • Regular squats with alternating leg extension

Arms

  • Shoulder press
  • Alternating bicep curls
  • Alternating rows
  • Tricep Raises

Core

  • Weighted v-up crunches
  • Side plank with reach under (20 seconds left side, 20 seconds right side)
  • Toe taps
  • Standard crunch, with side-to-side rock

I have also been completing HIIT (high intensity interval training) workouts on the elliptical. Generally, I wake up early for my cardio and then do my strength training after work. I know it seems like a pain to do 2 workouts in a day but I don’t want to wake up too early 😉 and I don’t want my workout to eat up my evening either so splitting them up works best for me. Plus I have a desk job so getting in a workout before and after a marathon sitting session feels good. If you have the time to do just one workout, I would recommend doing your strength first and then cardio, as this maximizes fat burning.

Because I am dealing with some irritating plantar fasciitis in my left foot, I can’t run as much as I would like so I have been sticking to the elliptical. I have been doing a 10 minute warm-up followed by this HIIT routine at least 3 times:

This routine makes the time fly by! I have been doing 50-60 minute workouts without getting bored. I just read in Women’s Health this weekend that tabata and HIIT style workouts can burn up to 9 times more fat than traditional exercise. NINE TIMES MORE!! Hello 2 lb fat loss last week! Not only are these workouts more effective (both with results and time) they leave me feeling really strong and proud of myself. Not to mention they make me sleep like a baby.

One thought on “New Workout

  1. Pingback: Winter Wellness Challenge: Week 2 Recap « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

