Two High Power Breakfasts

Morning all! I have a couple of delicious breakfast ideas for you today. As a plant-based eater and someone who is working out and trying to put on muscle, I am very conscious of my protein intake. I have found that it is incredibly easy to get a wide variety of plant proteins in my snacks, lunch, and dinner, but breakfast always seemed to be lacking. The easiest way I found to get adequate protein at breakfast is through smoothies. While I could eat 3 smoothies a day during the warmer months, things are getting chilly here in Colorado and it is really hard to down a cold smoothie with snow on the ground!! I have been brainstorming for filling and nourishing breakfasts and I think these two fit the bill.

First is more of an idea than a recipe. I have hesitated to buy coconut milk yogurts because of their high price (I like to eat healthy on a budget) but I found a whole pile of them on sale for 39 cents the other day. Yes they are expired now, but a few days past expiration won’t hurt!! Because coconut milk yogurt has almost zero protein, I decided to stir in my favorite raw, vegan protein powder to really give it a boost. If you are a dairy eater, I would suggest plain, non-fat greek yogurt as it has the most protein of all yogurts. You really want to avoid flavored yogurts because they are usually very high in sugars and scary ingredients (just compare a strawberry flavored yogurt to plain and you will see what I mean).  Also, be careful with the type of granola you eat. Make sure you aren’t just buying candy/junk food masquerading as a health food. I made mine at home so I could control the ingredients; it is full of seeds and sprouted buckwheat so it has a high protein content. This breakfast is a good mix of protein, quality fats, and complex carbohydrates. Enjoy!

Yogurt Power Bowl

This breakfast is a vegan version of CaitlinHTP’s “yogurt messes.”

Ingredients

  • Yogurt of choice mixed with 1/2-1 scoop of protein powder (I used chocolate brown rice)
  • Fruit of choice
  • Whole grain cereal of choice (Kashi is a good choice)
  • Granola of choice (I used some raw granola I made over the weekend)

Next up is a new oatmeal idea. One of my favorite things to eat is a tart green apple with a spoonful of peanut butter. This morning, I decided to make that into an oatmeal and it was soooo good. This oatmeal is lower in protein than the yogurt bowl, but you could certainly stir some protein powder into the mix (I would recommend a vanilla flavor). This is another example of a breakfast with a healthy balance of plant protein, good fats, and complex carbs. The right combination of these macronutrients will give you a breakfast that is filling and has staying power.

Simple Apple Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 apple, peeled and diced
  • Packet Stevia
  • A few generous dashes of cinnamon
  • Drop of vanilla

Combine ingredients in a pot on medium-low heat. Stir and heat for around 10 minutes. Make sure liquid is absorbed and apple has softened. Serve topped with a spoonful of peanut butter – when it melts into the hot oatmeal, it is pure bliss. (I also put some raw granola on this…I have SO MUCH GRANOLA!)

Enjoyed with a steamy Teeccino & almond milk latte.

And yes, there was a point when I was out on my patio in 20 degree weather wearing pajamas and snow boots just to take a picture of oatmeal that I wondered when I officially went insane. We may never know.

6 thoughts on “Two High Power Breakfasts

  1. I have a similar version of your yogurt bowl every morning: Greek yogurt with one stevia, one apple, chopped, a handful of walnuts, and a handful of high protein granola. I like the “Bear Naked” brand, which has the lowest carbs (I’m diabetic).

    Looking forward to trying out the oatmeal!

  2. Pingback: Random Facts Friday « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Apple-Cinnamon Protein Smoothie « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: A Day in the Life 2/15 « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Daily Eats + Meal Prep « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

