Juicing

My aunt recently asked me to share some juice recipes and I thought why not do a whole post about juicing. I love to juice fresh vegetables and fruits; not only do I know that it’s extremely good for me, but it makes my body feel alive and my mind feel clear.

When I juice, I try to maximize the amounts of green and limit fruits. Greens are an abundant source of chlorophyll which floods your body and cells with oxygen. Greens are also alkalizing and full of minerals. While there is no bad time to juice, drinking fresh juice in the morning before you have eaten is the ideal time. Because juice is considered a “predigested” food (aka the cell walls of the plants are broken open and there is no fiber to slow digestion) the nutrients from juice are almost instantaneously absorbed by your body. Don’t forget to “chew” your juice though, the act of chewing will stimulate your saliva and digestive enzymes. When you get up in the morning, let your body wake up slowly. Have a glass of cold or even hot water with lemon. Drink your juice, savoring the goodness it contains and wait up to an hour (at least 20 minutes) before you eat your breakfast. I would suggest having no less than 16 ounces of juice (if you’re gonna go through all the hard work to prep, juice, and clean – might as well drink up!).

Ideally, you would make your juice fresh in the morning, though I prefer making mine the night before and sealing it in an airtight mason jar. I probably could wake up early to make fresh juice but I’m just a tad lazy! To really treat your body special, follow the juice with a super smoothie containing more greens! I just read an article that Miranda Kerr (the amazingly beautiful VS supermodel) starts her day with a 3 part breakfast: green juice, super smoothie, and then a heavier meal of oatmeal or eggs. Um, I’ll have what she’s having please!!

I do want to say that I prefer to “juice supplement” rather than “juice fast/feast.” Juice supplementing is just adding delicious and nutritious juices to your daily routine in order to up the amount of fresh, revitalizing produce you consume. Juice fasting or feasting is when you only drink juices for a certain period of time in order to detox, lose weight, or reset your body’s preferences. I don’t think juice fasting is the way to go because it can cause you to lose muscle mass along with water weight and fat and you are most certainly going to gain some of the weight back which will be gained as fat so you end up with more fat than you started with. I have talked about this with fad dieting before. Crash diets and quick weight-loss plans usually do more harm than good. If you want more juice in your life, I strongly recommend juice supplementing. And remember, because there is no fiber in juices, the sugars have more effect on your blood sugar levels than whole fruit would, so make sure you aren’t drinking fruit-only juices too often and always get exercise to help burn off excess sugars.

My Favorite Juices

Classic Green Juice – kale, spinach, parsley, celery, cucumber, green apple, ginger, and lemon juice (sooo good)

Fun snack juice – carrots, cucumber, green apple, ginger

Citrus breeze – kale, grapefruit, orange, lemon, cucumber

Amazing combination – pineapple + spinach (it’s that simple!)

Post workout juice – kale, lots of celery, cucumber, pear

Beauty juice – romaine, cucumber, lemon juice, pear

Breakfast juice – cantaloupe + cucumber

You will notice most of the juices I enjoy contain cucumber. It’s not that cucumber is so good for you (although it is great for glowing skin), but that cucumbers add a lot of liquid and help your greens go further, plus they don’t add a strong flavor. If  you don’t have a juicer or don’t prefer juices, you can always enjoy green smoothies!

8 thoughts on “Juicing

  1. Hi Shelley – okay I’ve been thinking about juicing for awhile. I do supplement with kale blueberry and banana smoothies but I don’t like all the fruit. So…..what do you recommend for a juicer? Also – is it a myth or fact that the “skins” are wasted. Hope that was clear 🙂

    • Vicky I use the Breville fountain compact juicer. I bought it on amazon for aobut $100 and it was worth every penny. I experimented with a few cheaper juicers before I invested in the Breville and it is worth the higher price tag as it produces much more juice (especially from greens, the most important part!). I have never heard about the skins being wasted…I would assume people say this because you aren’t getting the fiber out of the skins? I have read to juice vegetables and fruits with the skin on because you do get nutrients, I would have to do a little more research to find out what’s true. I usually alternate between green juices and green smoothies…whatever I have a feeling for. Either way, you are getting easily digestable nutrient goodness!!

  2. Okay, so I’m making progress – I actually got out my juicer and juicer book, which have been in storage for about 10 years. Sigh. I have a little Krups juicer that I got at Walmart years ago, and it works great, one drink at a time. I used to wash my fruit and veggies and leave the skin on apples, pears, cukes, tomatoes,etc. My favorite tips from “The Juicer Book” by Joanna White: Soak fruits and veggies about 10 minutes in cold water with 4 Tablespoons sale and 1 T fresh lemon juice; leafy greens for about 3 minutes, berries, 2 minutes. Rinse well after soaking. ANd buy organic when possible. Favorite recipe: 2 carrots, 1 cup fresh spinach, 1/2 tomato, 1/4 cuke (skin and seed), 1 celery stalk, 1 green onion, 1 red pepper, 1/2 cup cabbage. Add 1/2 apple if desired. Delish!
    Because I’m diabetic, I’m going to blend fruits for fiber but juice the veggies. THanks again, Shelley, for helping your old aunt Nancy get back on a healthier track!

    • Organic when possible is very important. Celery, apples, and leafy greens especially need to be organic. I think it’s a good idea to juice only veggies, remember that carrots are high-glycemic too so limit that if you can. Greens are the best for juicing. Let me know when you have your first glass!

Leave a Reply

