Spiced Buckwheat Cereal

Wow, it has been a busy couple of weeks I can’t believe how little I have blogged! I feel like we have been crazy busy but when I look back I can’t remember anything we actually did…does this happen to anyone else??

I have a recipe for the raw food lovers today. It is a bit involved, but completely worth it. I got the idea for this “recipe” from Jenn of For the Glow when she tweeted about soaking her buckwheat in pumpkin spice tea. If you have a moment, head on over to her blog and check out her post about a “Goal Free 2012” it is an interesting read.

Spiced Buckwheat Cereal

  • 1 cup buckwheat groats
  • 2 spiced tea bags
  • Few squirts of agave, maple syrup, or date paste
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, vanilla extract

Directions

  • Boil hot water and pour over tea bags to steep. I used Bengal Spice because it’s what I have on hand. Let the tea steep and cool on the counter.
  • Soak groats overnight in the tea. Cover with enough water to allow them to expand.
  • In the morning, drain and rinse the buckwheat. Leave in a collender over a bowl to sprout (in a cool, dry area of the kitchen, I also put a paper towel over the top of the collender). Rinse and drain every 12 hours. I sprouted mine for a couple of days.
  • Once buckwheat has sprouted, squirt a bit of the sweetener of choice on the groats and apply liberal amounts of spices (I put on tons of cinnamon).
  • Spread out in single layer on dehydrator tray (on teflex if possible). Dehydrate at 110 for about 5 hours. That’s all I needed for them to be dry and crispy

I served my spiced cereal with sliced banana, chopped walnuts, raisins, and almond milk this morning. It reminded me of banana bread and was an all raw meal that filled me up and kept me going until lunch.

I think it would be good with any combination of fruit and almond milk (finely diced apple and walnuts is my next bowl). So, if you already enjoy the benefits of sprouted and dehydrated buckwheat groats, why not give soaking them in flavored tea a try! Such an easy change to make in order to add tons of flavor.

I’ll be back next week with a “Things I’d like to do This Year” post…it’s my version of resolutions…calling them things I’d like to do just makes me feel less pressured. 😉 What are your resolutions for 2012?

One thought on “Spiced Buckwheat Cereal

  1. Pingback: In The Kitchen & Number 6 « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

