2011 – A Wonderfully Difficult Year

This was a tough post to write, but also very cathartic. I hope you enjoy it.

2011 was the most difficult and yet best year of my life. If you had asked me about this year on January 4th I would have told you it was beyond salvageable. That there was no way anything good would come. You see, January 3rd was the hardest day I have ever experienced. On January 3rd, early in the morning, I woke up and went to the airport with my husband to say goodbye as he was leaving for deployment in Afghanistan for 6 months. I’m not quite sure how I managed to drive myself home in between sobs. Then, in the evening of January 3rd as I was all alone and still crying, I suffered a miscarriage. I went from being a wife and expectant mother to completely and utterly alone. It was the most empty and frightening feeling I have ever known.

Now, before you go feeling sorry for me don’t bother. I spent more than enough time feeling sorry for myself! Yes it was tragic. Yes it will be with me forever. And yes, I am still surprised I managed to pick myself up and keep going. But I did. Thankfully I did, because 2011 ended up being the most positively transformative year I have ever had.

Of course, If I could have picked my life I would have preferred things turn out differently. But that didn’t happen. Instead, I changed my life in so many ways that I would not have been able to do had I been pregnant. Shortly after my husband left I decided to do a 7 day vegan “experiment” and wouldn’t you know…it stuck! I explored raw foods and juicing. I ramped up my workouts and got my body in the best shape I have ever been. I trained for and ran 2 half-marathons! I climbed mountains. I learned so much about the human body, nutrition, and a holistic lifestyle. I started this little blog you are reading right now. I lost a great companion, but gained two more. I improved myself and my life in ways that would have been unimaginable had I had a baby.

If I hadn’t become interested in my health, I wouldn’t have accumulated the information I now have. And I wouldn’t be helping people like I am now. All of the changes I have experienced this past year have led me to discover what I want to do with my life! I want to help people. I want to educate them and give them the tools to control their health and their future.

Most importantly, this year taught me to be stronger and overcome uncomfortable and difficult situations. I learned the importance of a positive outlook on life. I learned to truly love myself and somehow I made it to the other side healthier, happier, and more confident in myself and my relationships.

So, from the first minutes of 2011…

To the last…

I hope that you savored every moment, grew in any way, and improved yourself and your life. Here is looking to 2012.

10 thoughts on “2011 – A Wonderfully Difficult Year

  1. So proud of you Shek! Your positivity and motivation has been such a help to me over this past year, and I can’t wait to see what 2012 brings. Keep up the good work!!

  2. Happy for you Shelley! I know how bad it sucks and it never seens to go away but you will have beautiful babies when it’s time and you did such a good job of keeping your head up. 2012 will be great! We should make a goal to get together more too.

  3. What a wonderfully positive post Shelley. Having just found your blog, I’ve been drawn to your heartfelt, informative posts. Now I know why. There is a depth to you because of your experiences. You’ve decided to grow through them and I admire you! Thanks for the beautiful post and may you have another year where you keep on growing and changing. Love to you and all the best!

  4. What a wonderful post. Seriously. This is the most thoughtful new year’s post I’ve read yet. Sorry I’m just getting to it now! Sounds like you really made the best of a rough start to the year. I’m impressed.

    By the way, I’m excited to be going to Denver for the first time this summer for a wedding. Never been to CO before 🙂

    • Thank you Brigid. It definitely was a year where “if I didn’t laugh, i’d cry” so I tried to focus on the positive! We might be moving west soon, but if I am still in the Denver area in the summer we should meet up for a run!

Leave a Reply

