Meal Idea: Sushi Bowl

For me, this meal represents everything that is healthy and good about veganism. Whole grains, plant-based protein, lots and lots of greens, a mix of cooked and raw elements, and don’t forget it’s absolutely delicious!

Whenever I mention I’m in the mood for sushi, people always seem to ask me…”but you’re vegan, you can’t really have sushi can you?” Oh contraire mon frere, I eat plenty of sushi – I just leave the fish off and have veggie sushi. It tastes the exact same to me and since I don’t really consider myself a huge sushi aficionado, I don’t miss the fish. Sushi is a frequent meal around my house whether it’s made with cooked sushi rice or raw cauliflower rice. My main “stuffing” mixture is sliced carrots, red bell pepper, cucumber, and avocado. Though sushi is pretty healthy, I have always longed to make brown rice sushi to really up the nutritional value. However, I have an easier time making rolls out of cauliflower rice than brown rice! I just can’t get brown rice to stick well and the rolls always end up a huge mess. Light bulb! I decided to make a deconstructed sushi bowl. It tastes the same as sushi, just prepared differently and I don’t have to try to make pretty rolls.

I used what I had on hand in the fridge for the bowl ingredients but I think it would be really good with a wide variety of vegetables (specifically shredded zucchini, sliced cucumber, and diced red bell pepper).

Sushi Bowl

In the Bowl

  • Cooked brown rice
  • lightly steamed broccoli
  • shredded spinach
  • Diced avocado
  • Shredded carrot
  • edamame
  • Cut nori strips

Dressing

  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar

Directions
Prep your vegetables: you can lightly steam the broccoli, or just eat it raw. Combine veggies and brown rice. For the nori strips, I simply cut them up into manageable pieces and mixed into the bowl (they will soften up due to the moisture). Whisk dressing ingredients together and pour over bowl. Enjoy! (you could also add a little wasabi to the dressing if you like your sushi with a kick). I served my bowl warmed but I have a feeling it would be even better at room temperature after marinating together for a while.

 Just look at all that green! This meal was so good that I made it three days in a row. Be creative and add in veggies that you like most. If you eat seafood, I would probably suggest crab (to make it similar to a California roll) or alternatively you could add in diced tofu if you feel like the meal needs a little oomph. However, it is pretty darn good as is.

8 thoughts on “Meal Idea: Sushi Bowl

  1. That looks delicious. I was lucky to snag a rice cooker for the Holidays and have been pondering up different rice ideas, so next time I’m in town I will be stopping at my organic market and picking some stuff up.

  2. Pingback: BBQ Bean & Grain Bowl « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 3/19 (Spring Cleanse Day 1) « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: 2 New Workouts « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Get it in Gear « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Quick Veggie Quinoa Bowl « Mile High Healthy

  7. Pingback: Two years of blogging: my favorites so far | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

